Home > Computing > App cons Facebook users with promise of revealing…

App cons Facebook users with promise of revealing profile viewers

OMG OMG OMG..You’d think we’d all learn by now: You can’t see who’s been looking at your Facebook profile (at least not by way of an app). Yet another scam has hit Facebook, via a link all over users’ News Feed that proclaims “OMG OMG OMG…I cant believe this actually works! Now you really can see who viewed your profile!”

Of course, it doesn’t and you can’t. The link takes users to an app called ePrivacy, which requests access to their accounts and then spams them from here to eternity. Sophos reasons that over 60,000 users were affected within hours. Earlier this year, a similar scam took hold of the site, and Facebook asserted that “there’s no way to see who has visited your profile” and that the site blocks applications from doing this as well. Facebook saw similar spamming when the fabled Dislike Button app made its ways to the site.

It stands to reason that people really want to see who looks at their Facebook profiles, as the fraudulent app has seriously infiltrated the site. No need to be embarrassed if you were one of the many who bought it, however. Simply go to your Privacy Settings, view Applications and Websites and remove the faulty app, as well as any links posted to your Wall.

Still, no removal is going to get back the data you compromised – including your e-mail address, personal information, and of course the ability for the third party vendor to post anything it likes to your Facebook. This just serves as one more lesson in thinking twice before clicking the “Allow” icon.