How to use iCloud

Deleting iCloud backups

If you haven’t figured it out already, iCloud is a terrific and autonomous way of syncing and storing data from all your connected iOS devices. Unfortunately, the provided 5GB of storage only goes so far when you’re constantly backing up an iPhone, iPad and iPod using the same iCloud account. Luckily, select backups can always be manually deleted directly on your iOS device to free up storage when they become extremely outdated or in the event you no longer posses the device to which the backup belongs.

Step 1: Navigate to backup —  Tap the main Settings menu located on your device’s homescreen to access the main settings panel. Afterward, tap the iCloud option found midway down the menu, followed by the Storage & Backup option located at the button the resulting menu. Choose the Manage Storage option located near the top of the page.

Step 2: Delete the backup — Select the backup you wish to delete and tap the red Delete Backup option at the bottom of the resulting menu. Afterward tap Turn Off & Delete to confirm. Each backup will show its relative size and the specific date when it was initially uploaded, so you shouldn’t have much trouble distinguishing between the various backups. However, you’ll typically want to keep the most recent backup.

Delete backup iCloud

Next Page: Tips & tricks

Get our Top Stories delivered to your inbox: