Angry Birds Star Wars

We haven't had a chance to fully test this product yet, but we've assembled this helpful overview of relevant information on it.

Angry Birds Star Wars, from Rovio Entertainment and published by Activision, takes a Star Wars-themed approach to the existing, tried-and-true Angry Birds formula—more specifically based on George Lucas’ original trilogy. Levels are set in such Star Wars environments as Tatooine, Dagobah, and the Death Star, and the all-new birds available are based on fan-favorite characters such as Luke Skywalker and Yoda, with the pigs representing the Galactic Empire. The Millenium Falcon also takes the place of the previous games’ Mighty Eagle, and for the first time in the franchise birds may activate their special abilities after colliding with an object.

The game is already available for current-gen console platforms, most mobile OS’s, PC, and Mac OS X, but a brand new edition has been announced as a launch title for both the Playstation 4 and Xbox One, for $50 via download. Along with improved graphics, the new release will feature 20 exclusive new levels and introduce multiplayer modes, both competitive and cooperative. Xbox One players will be able to use Kinect to launch their feathered fury at the Imperial pig menace, and the Playstation 4 version will feature controls utilizing the Dualshock 4’s touchpad.

Date Available

  • November 8, 2012
  • November 15, 2013 (PS4)
  • November 22, 2013 (Xbox One)

Get our Top Stories delivered to your inbox: