Home > Home > Snapchat auto-delete sexts seconds after…

Snapchat auto-delete sexts seconds after they’ve been viewed

Snapchat App

At the rate of sexts being sent to the wrong person, it might be time to find a solution to keep those sexy texts off your and your partner’s phones so unsuspecting friends won’t accidentally see those naughty conversations and photos. Beside, keeping a sext in your phone is prime for friends to make fun of you, or worse, exploit them. Better make sure you’re safe with Snapchat, the app that will automatically delete a photo sext in a short amount of time after the message is opened.

Safe sexting doesn’t exactly exist, but you can save some embarrassment using the free iOS app. With Snapchat, users can share a photo and it will disappear from the gallery anywhere between one to ten seconds. The sender can control how long the picture is visible for after viewing, and once it’s gone that’s the end of the photo. If the receiver attempts to screencap the photo, the app will alert the sender. After that, it’s out of Snapchat’s hands; you two are a phone call away  from a screamfest to get that dirty picture off their phone. Maybe you still shouldn’t have sent it to a sleezeball in the first place.

While the app does not say it’s intended to make sexting less damaging, the advertising photos seem to suggest it. Girls in tiny bikinis and shorts fill the screens, making us wonder why a seemingly innocent picture would need to be deleted seconds after sending. The app is also clarified by Apple to be targeted for audiences above the age of 12 with a warning of “mild sexual content or nudity.”

Still, sexting is still an activity that is entirely up to your own risk. Even the Privacy terms under the Snapchat official site states that the app is not reliable for deleting your naughty photos once they are sent.

“When you send or receive messages using the Snapchat services, we temporarily process and store your images in order to provide our services. Although the we attempt to delete image data as soon as possible after the message is transmitted, we cannot guarantee that the message data will be deleted in every case,” the terms read. “Consequently, we are not able to guarantee that your messaging data will be deleted in all instances. Messages, therefore, are sent at the risk of the user.”

Yikes. Sext or not sext, just make sure you have the correct intended recipient before those embarrassing pictures get sent to a friend, former lover, co-worker, or worse, a family member. Alternatively, you can always use the app in a perfectly PG manner by sending MMS through the app so the file goes through faster, and doesn’t stay on the receiver’s phone.

Get our Top Stories delivered to your inbox: