Turns out, the effects of the Adobe hack that infiltrated some 150 million accounts go deeper than we originally thought. According to Krebs on Security, Facebook users who have been logging into the social network and Adobe with the same information are getting security warnings.
This means if you use the same email address and password for Facebook and Adobe, both accounts have been compromised. The short lesson here, of course, is stop using the same login data for all of your accounts. If you’re one of these unlucky souls, you’ll see this notification next time you sign into Facebook.
Facebook says that whenever there is a high profile, wide-reaching security breach – as in the case of Adobe – it runs its data to see whether users relied on the same credentials in order to find out if their Facebook accounts have also been affected. Facebook has yet to release any information on how many of its users are getting the above security warning.
Now that not one but two of your accounts has been hacked, it’s time to change your passwords (not to the same thing this time, OK?).