Home > Social Media > Facebook testing photo syncing feature for Android…

Facebook testing photo syncing feature for Android users

facebook photo sync

Facebook confirmed with The Verge that the social network is testing photo synchronization for Android device owners. For a social network that has long promoted frictionless sharing, photo syncing is finally making its way onto Facebook despite the fact that Android-based Google Plus and Evernote users have long been using a similar feature.

One of the perks of using an Android device is the variety of options to automatically upload photos to a server without resorting to emailing images, manually uploading photos to your favorite social network, or plugging your phone into your computer. In a similar fashion, uploading photos taken on your Android devices to Facebook is as simple as capturing an image. Every photo that’s taken will be sent directly to a private page called “Synced from iPhone” located at the top of your photos page on the desktop version of Facebook. On your Android phone, you can access your photos under a “Synced” tab located at the bottom of your Facebook Photos page.

Users you can choose what images you would like or not like to share with other Facebook users, and you have the option of publicly publishing this content to your Timeline, or sending the images in a private message. Photos can also be deleted from both the mobile and desktop version of the app, and the feature can also be turned on and off.

You can read more about Facebook’s photo syncing feature in an FAQ that was set up for the limited number of Android device owners who have been granted early access to the feature during its test run.

If Facebook decides to roll out the feature to all Android device owners, what you should be aware of when uploading images are Facebook’s terms and conditions. While any content that you upload to Facebook is owned by you, legally you’re also granting Facebook, “a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (IP License).” But if you’re mindful enough to monitor the content that you upload, you can terminate the IP license that you’ve granted to Facebook simply by deleting the photos. And with the frequency with which Facebook accounts are hacked or mistakenly accessed, the last thing you’d want roaming the Internet are your intimate or illicit photographs taken using your phone.