Skip to main content

Two pioneers of digital photography honored by National Inventors Hall of Fame

Thirty-six years ago Steve Sasson began work on the modest project of taking an image, converting it to a digital signal and then storing it in a way the image could be retrieved later. The same structure Sasson developed in 1975 is behind virtually all commercially available digital cameras on the market today (although the cameras have gotten significantly smaller in the intervening years). Sasson is just one of 39 inventors who are set to be inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame as part of the class of 2011, which was announced today.

Joining Sasson is another pioneer in the field of digital photography, Eric Fossum, the man behind the image censor in your DSLR. While working at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Fossum led a team engineers who would eventually develop the CMOS active pixel sensor (APS). The CMOS sensor is now widely used in everything from cellphone cameras and DSLRs to the “swallowable cameras” used for medical diagnoses.

Here’s a quick rundown of the remaining 2011 inductees who are still among us:

  • George Devol, industrial robot visionary
  • Whitfield Diffie, Martin Hellman and Ralph Merkle, who all contributed to public-key cryptography
  • Gary Michelson, who possesses over 250 patents related to refining the process of spinal surgery
  • Esther Takeuchi, credited with inventing the batteries that power implantable cardioverter defibrillators
  • N. Joseph Woodland and Bernard Silver (deceased), inventors of the first optically scanned barcode

Notable inventors from the class of 2011 who have passed away include Mary Anderson, inventor of the windshield wiper, and Carleton Ellis, the creator of margarine. You can view the complete list of inductees here.

Aemon Malone
Former Digital Trends Contributor
Why AI will never rule the world
image depicting AI, with neurons branching out from humanoid head

Call it the Skynet hypothesis, Artificial General Intelligence, or the advent of the Singularity -- for years, AI experts and non-experts alike have fretted (and, for a small group, celebrated) the idea that artificial intelligence may one day become smarter than humans.

According to the theory, advances in AI -- specifically of the machine learning type that's able to take on new information and rewrite its code accordingly -- will eventually catch up with the wetware of the biological brain. In this interpretation of events, every AI advance from Jeopardy-winning IBM machines to the massive AI language model GPT-3 is taking humanity one step closer to an existential threat. We're literally building our soon-to-be-sentient successors.

Read more
The best hurricane trackers for Android and iOS in 2022
Truck caught in gale force winds.

Hurricane season strikes fear into the hearts of those who live in its direct path, as well as distanced loved ones who worry for their safety. If you've ever sat up all night in a state of panic for a family member caught home alone in the middle of a destructive storm, dependent only on intermittent live TV reports for updates, a hurricane tracker app is a must-have tool. There are plenty of hurricane trackers that can help you prepare for these perilous events, monitor their progress while underway, and assist in recovery. We've gathered the best apps for following storms, predicting storm paths, and delivering on-the-ground advice for shelter and emergency services. Most are free to download and are ad-supported. Premium versions remove ads and add additional features.

You may lose power during a storm, so consider purchasing a portable power source,  just in case. We have a few handy suggestions for some of the best portable generators and power stations available. 

Read more
Don’t buy the Meta Quest Pro for gaming. It’s a metaverse headset first
Meta Quest Pro enables 3D modeling in mixed reality.

Last week’s Meta Connect started off promising on the gaming front. Viewers got release dates for Iron Man VR, an upcoming Quest game that was previously a PS VR exclusive, as well as Among Us VR. Meta, which owns Facebook, also announced that it was acquiring three major VR game studios -- Armature Studio, Camouflaj Team, and Twisted Pixel -- although we don’t know what they’re working on just yet.

Unfortunately, that’s where the Meta Connect's gaming section mostly ended. Besides tiny glimpses and a look into fitness, video games were not the show's focus. Instead, CEO Mark Zuckerberg wanted to focus on what seemed to be his company’s real vision of VR's future, which involves a lot of legs and a lot of work with the Quest Pro, a mixed reality headset that'll cost a whopping $1,500.

Read more