Skip to main content

Gods and Monsters reportedly retitled Immortals Fenyx Rising over trademark issue

Ubisoft reportedly changed the title of its upcoming open-world Greek mythology game from Gods & Monsters to Immortals Fenyx Rising due to a trademark dispute with beverage company Monster Energy.

Immortals Fenyx Rising, which was part of the latest Ubisoft Forward livestream, has been known as Gods & Monsters since the game was revealed at E3 2019. The name change was unexplained, but TechRaptor spotted information about what happened on the website of the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

According to the USPTO website, Monster Energy opposed Ubisoft’s trademark application for Gods & Monsters, arguing that it will cause confusion with its brands. Ubisoft denied the allegations, while pointing out that there are many other trademarks that also use the word “monster,” an example of which is Capcom’s Monster Hunter series.

It remains unclear exactly what has happened in relation to the legal dispute, but Ubisoft has apparently moved on by renaming the game Immortals Fenyx Rising.

Digital Trends has reached out to Ubisoft for comment on the trademark dispute with Monster Energy, and we will update this article as soon as we hear back.

Meanwhile, Ubisoft revealed the gameplay for Immortals Fenyx Rising in a video that lasts for an hour and a half.

Immortals Fenyx Rising: Live Gameplay Reveal | Ubisoft [NA]

September’s Ubisoft Forward

In addition to Immortals Fenyx Rising, the Ubisoft Forward livestream on September 10 showcased the remake of The Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, the next-gen update for Rainbow Six: Siege, the return of Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World: The Game, a new trailer for Watch Dogs: Legion, and the announcement of Riders Republic.

Before the event, Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot apologized for the string of sexual harassment allegations against multiple Ubisoft employees in a four-minute video.

Editors' Recommendations

Aaron Mamiit
Aaron received a NES and a copy of Super Mario Bros. for Christmas when he was 4 years old, and he has been fascinated with…
Metal Gear Solid: Master Collection contains first 2 Metal Gear games, Konami confirms
metal gear solid master collection extra games

Metal Gear Solid: Master Collection Vol. 1 will contain two more games than expected, according to its PlayStation Store listing and a statement that the game's publisher, Konami, provided to Digital Trends. Those titles are the original Metal Gear and its follow-up, Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake.

You might have missed the announcement of Metal Gear Solid: Master Collection Vol. 1 during the PlayStation Showcase. An image that appeared briefly following the Metal Gear Solid Delta: Snake Eater's announcement confirmed the collection and revealed it would feature Metal Gear Solid, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, and Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater.
The PlayStation Store listing goes into a lot more detail about what versions of what games are actually included in this collection. It confirms that Master Collection Vol. 1 will include the HD Collection versions of Metal Gear Solid 2 and 3, in addition to a version of Metal Gear Solid that also features the VR and Special Missions, but it also states that the package includes the first two games in the Metal Gear series.
Digital Trends contacted Konami to affirm that this PlayStation Store listing was accurate, and a PR representative confirmed that "for the Collection, the PS Store listing is correct."
While Metal Gear Solid is when Hideo Kojima's stealth espionage series went mainstream, it actually began when Konami released Metal Gear on the MSX2 in Japan and Europe in 1987. This game, along with its 1990 Japan-only follow-up, Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake, are top-down stealth games where players infiltrate enemy bases as Solid Snake. These games laid the groundwork for the Metal Gear Solid series' lore, and they are still canon within the wider series. As such, it's great to see these games present in the collection, as they've only really ever been available as bonuses in rereleases of Metal Gear Solid 3.
Metal Gear Solid: Master Collection Vol. 1 launches this autumn. 

Read more
There’s an HP gaming PC for $530 in Best Buy’s Memorial Day sale
The HP Victus 15L gaming PC on a desk.

If you've been thinking about dipping your toes in modern PC gaming but you'd like to start with a budget gaming desktop, look no further than the HP Victus 15L, which is available from Best Buy's Memorial Day sale with a $200 discount. From its original price of $730, you'll only have to pay $530 for this gaming PC. However, you need to act fast with your purchase -- there's a few days left until the holiday itself, but we're not sure if stocks will last until then.

Why you should buy the HP Victus 15L gaming desktop
The HP Victus 15L gaming desktop, with its 12th-generation Intel Core i3 processor, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1650 graphics card, and 8GB of RAM, isn't as powerful as the top-of-the-line models of the best gaming PCs. However, it meets the minimum system requirements for some of today's best free-to-play games like Fortnite, Apex Legends, DOTA 2, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, and Valorant, especially if you're willing to scale down the graphics settings a notch to ensure smooth performance. As a starter gaming desktop, you won't be limited with the titles that you can play on the HP Victus 15L, and when you feel the need for an upgrade, you can easily swap out its components for more advanced ones as that's one of the advantages of a gaming PC over a gaming laptop.

Read more
Final Fantasy 16: release date, trailers, gameplay, and more
Shiva in Final Fantasy 16.

Final Fantasy XVI is finally on its way after a prolonged gap between it and the previous numbered entry. While numerous major titles have seen delays in the past couple of years, we're glad to finally know the game is nearly upon us. There are still plenty of mysteries about the new adventure, but here's everything we know so far.
Release date

Final Fantasy XVI is confirmed to be arriving on June 22, 2023.

Read more