Skip to main content

Hyper Light Drifter gets a 3D co-op follow-up

In a surprise announcement on Twitter, publisher Gearbox announced that developer Heart Machine has a sequel to 2016’s Hyper Light Drifter in the works. Titled Hyper Light Breaker, the game is set to enter Steam Early Access in spring 2023.

Announcing❣️: Hyper Light Breaker

Related Videos

A new 3D adventure set in the Hyper Light universe is coming to Steam Early Access in Spring 2023. Explore the world of @HLBreaker in 3D via single-player or online co-op with friends.

Wishlist now:

— GearboxOfficial (@GearboxOfficial) March 31, 2022

Based on the game’s Steam page, where it can already be wish listed, Hyper Light Breaker doesn’t appear to be radically different from Hyper Light Drifter. Players will once again hunt down monsters and create builds during their runs, all with the goal of dethroning the Abyss King. Breaking from its predecessor though, Hyper Light Breaker is moving into the third dimension.

While it isn’t exactly shown off in the trailer shared by Gearbox today, we do get a short look at Hyper Light Breaker‘s 3D world through its Steam page. In a short clip toward the bottom of the game’s description, you can see a lanky character running through a lush forest. Just below that is a picture of a more urban area that seems to have been overgrown with trees, ferns, and other plants.

And following Heart Machine’s last game, Solar Ash, it seems that the developer is keeping stylish movement in mind for Hyper Light Breaker. Players will be able to wall-dash, glide, and ride a hoverboard across the game’s various landscapes. In between these treks, players will also be able to stop at The Settlement, a hub filled with NPCs where upgrades can be applied, leaving Breakers even stronger for their next run through Breaker‘s world, The Overgrowth.

Editors' Recommendations

WarioWare: Get It Together! coming this year with two-player co-op
A boy licks an ice cream cone in WarioWare: Get It Together!

Nintendo has announced WarioWare: Get It Together!, a new entry in the WarioWare series. The game will feature more of the microgames that the series is known for, as well as the ability to tackle some microgames with character-specific abilities.

The game will feature a two-player mode, though it's unknown whether players can party up online or whether the feature is couch co-op only. WarioWare: Get It Together! releases on September 10, and pre-orders open today.

Read more
Learning to fly in Lemuria: Some tips to get you started in Child of Light
Child of Light screenshot 7

Child of Light from Ubisoft Montreal is an artistic masterpiece. The download-only RPG is filled with lush, hand-drawn art using the French publisher's proprietary UbiArt Framework engine, providing us with beautiful watercolor art to this 2D side-scroller. The game is, as mentioned, a side-scrolling exploration and turn-based combat game provides a distinct retro flavor. However, the combat system and exploration in the game have some new concepts that can be difficult to get the hang of.

As you explore the beautiful world of Lemuria for the first (or fifth) time, we're here to help guide you through the peculiar pacing and surprising technical combat mechanics. Read on for some tips that should ease the learning process so you can get the most out of your characters from moment one.

Read more
Here’s the entire Destiny 2 story explained, up through Beyond Light
Destiny 2 Beyond Light Beginner's Guide.

Destiny 2 is here, kicking off a new chapter of Activision's wildly popular shared-world shooter. A lot has happened in the universe of Destiny since the original game launched, including expansions, large and small, which add to the story, and countless tweaks to the form and function of the game's fundamental elements. So much has happened, in fact, that a reminder might be in order for anyone wondering what's going on in Destiny these days.

The latest expansion, Beyond Light, is actually the eleventh chapter in the Destiny saga, depending on how you count. Developer Bungie released Destiny in September 2014, followed by four major expansions: The Dark Below, House of Wolves, The Taken King, and Rise of Iron. Destiny 2 kicked off the series' second arc a few years back and has already seen a few expansions to progress the storyline even further.

Read more