Skip to main content

Wolfenstein, Dishonored/Prey collections coming to Xbox Series X/S

Two Bethesda game collections are coming to the Xbox Series X/S, according to anew ESRB listing. A Wolfenstein bundle, as well as a Dishonored and Prey collection, are coming to the upcoming Series X and Series S, alongside the Xbox One and PlayStation 4.

Wolfenstein Alt History Collection includes every Wolfenstein game from the past six years: The New Order, The Old Blood, The New Colossus, and last year’s Youngblood.

Similarly, Dishonored & Prey The Arkane Collection contains four games from Arkane Studios, spanning back to 2012. The bundle features Prey, Dishonored, Dishonored 2, and Dishonored: Death of the Outsider.

Matt Smith / Digital Trends

While originally revealed by an ESRB rating, the games have since popped up on Best Buy’s website. The PlayStation 4 and Xbox One editions of the games currently appear there, with the Wolfenstein bundle retailing for $80 and the Arkane collection going for $60. Series X/S versions of the releases do not currently appear on the site, so it’s unclear if the pricing will be the same for the next-generation versions.

The news comes just weeks after Microsoft announced that it was acquiring Bethesda and would bring the studio’s library to Game Pass. Microsoft quickly made good on that promise by bringing Doom Eternal to the service shortly thereafter. These collections would bring another eight major Bethesda titles to the service if they’re added to it.

Curiously, the ESRB only lists a rating for the Xbox Series of consoles. There’s no mention of the PlayStation 5, despite the fact that a PlayStation 4 version is coming. That rekindles questions about how Microsoft’s acquisition might effect the release of Bethesda’s games across other consoles going forward.

Editors' Recommendations

Giovanni Colantonio
Giovanni is a writer and video producer focusing on happenings in the video game industry. He has contributed stories to…
This console generation isn’t about games or hardware. It’s about services
A character stands below a ship in Starfield.

It’s been over two years since the start of the current console generation, which launched with a rocky start at the end of 2020. You'd think it's been more than long enough to understand what it's all about, but for many, there's still confusion. That might be changing this year. As Tomas Franzese wrote earlier this month, 2023 could be the year where we finally see what games define this generation’s consoles, at least in terms of exclusives. He also noted that games could stop being cross-platform, launching on just current-gen consoles instead of simultaneously on last-gen ones.

While that'll finally give us some memorable games, it doesn't bring us closer to defining the hardware itself. Besides a few extra teraflops and new ultra-fast SSDs, there isn’t much that helps the PS5 and Xbox Series X and S stand out from their predecessors. Sure, the PS5 looks like a giant spaceship, and the Xbox Series X is built like a fridge, but we didn’t know what these devices could offer that the PS4 and Xbox One couldn’t besides some pretty lighting effects and virtually non-existent loading times.

Read more
Your Xbox is becoming carbon aware with new update
Official Xbox art promoting energy saving, carbon awareness, and collective action.

While many fans are waiting for Xbox to reveal the release dates of Redfall and Starfield, or to even hold another game showcase of its own, Microsoft's first significant Xbox-related announcement of the year is about something else entirely. Xbox Insiders will have access to multiple new options to make their Xbox Series X or Xbox Series S more carbon-aware starting today.
To start, the "Shutdown (energy-saving)" power option will be updated to reduce its power consumption even further while still supporting overnight updates; in fact, your Xbox console will now optimize those updates by doing them "when the console can use the most renewable energy in your local energy grid." According to Microsoft, for every two consoles that are in this mode for 20 hours a day for a whole year, the carbon equivalent of a tree that has been growing for over a decade will be saved.

That isn't the only energy-conscious addition in this update, though. A new "Active Hours" setting is coming, which will allow those who choose the "Sleep" power option to boot quickly and support remote waking during set active hours, rather than it always being available. Surprisingly, even Xbox One owners will see a carbon-aware update with the addition of the "Shutdown (energy saving)" power option today, although Microsoft is still in the user feedback stage for that platform.
These carbon-aware updates are available to Xbox Insiders with an Xbox One, Xbox Series X, or Xbox Series S starting today, although Microsoft says these additions will come to all current-gen console owners "soon." 

Read more
The Xbox Series X games with the best graphics
Two players ride horses in Far Cry 6.

Ever since the original Xbox hit the market to compete with PlayStation, the two systems have more or less been at a graphical stalemate. Yes, the Xbox One suffered slightly behind the PS4, but with this generation, Microsoft decided to split the difference and offer players two choices for jumping into next-gen. There's the Xbox Series S, which can run every game the X can, only at slightly lower visual fidelity, while the Xbox Series X makes no sacrifices in terms of graphics or performance.

Despite having an uneven release schedule from first-party studios, the Xbox Series X has built up an impressive library of visually stunning games. Many games here could even be mistaken for real-life footage or images, and yet they're fully playable on this powerful console. Showing off what your new console can push out visually is always a treat, so if you're looking for a handful of games that will make any onlooker's jaw drop, here are our picks for some of the Xbox Series X games with the best graphics.

Read more