The DT3 – Our Top New Albums for July 13

Each week the Digital Trends staff selects three albums that we think you should know about. Not in-depth reviews, just passing on some music we like.

Want to suggest a band or album? Email us here: or leave a comment below.

Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse – Dark Night Of The Soul

A dispute with the record label and numerous closed door discussions and negotiations slowed this album down, but the wait was worth it. Guest appearances include: The Flaming Lips, James Mercer, Suzanne Vega and more.

Top Tracks: Revenge, Insane Lullaby, Grim Augury

Album Info: Dark Night Of The Soul is a music and visual art project instigated and helmed by Danger Mouse. This unique, unconventional endeavour unites a wonderful album length piece of music by Danger Mouse, Sparklehorse and a host of guest vocalists with a collection of original David Lynch photography. David Lynch’s imagery is wholly inspired by and based on the music providing a visual narrative to the record.

The guest vocalists on Dark Night Of The Soul, in order of appearance, are: The Flaming Lips, Gruff Rhys, Jason Lytle, Julian Casablancas, Black Francis, Iggy Pop, David Lynch, James Mercer, Nina Persson, Suzanne Vega and Vic Chestnutt.

Dark Night Of The Soul will be made available July 12th (UK) & July 13th (US).

– Album info from

Korn-III: Remember Who You Are

The boys from Bakersfield are back with a new album and tour.

Top Tracks: Oildale (Leave Me Alone), Let the Guilt Go, The Past

Album Info: Their ninth offering, Korn III —Remember Who You Are, is their first effort for brand new label home, Roadrunner Records, and it bursts at the seams with that very feeling that defined the band from the get-go. Each song unleashes an uneasiness reminiscent of Korn’s earliest and most unbridled material, but there’s also a modern refinement that’s epic in its execution. Korn definitely don’t lose sight of their roots on Remember Who You Are, but they also venture into uncharted darkness. All that truly matters is where they’re going. The album strikes a balance between their past and their future, as it finds the band reuniting with producer Ross Robinson, who manned the boards for their first two records, all the while joining forces with Roadrunner Records, the world’s leading rock label.

– Album info from

Black Majesty – In Your Honour

Take the restrictor plate off the Red Dragon and turn this up!

Top Tracks: Far Beyond, Follow, End Of Time

Album Info: 2010 will be BLACK MAJESTY’s year. With an album like “In Your Honour”, the title referring to their numerous fans who have stuck by them during their career, nothing can go wrong. The songs reflect elements of Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Helloween, Queensyrche and even Hammerfall without trying to copy them. The hymn-like opener, “Far Beyond”, with its impressive classical metal riffs and its up-tempo beat marks a journey into the very core of metal eargasms. The driving, fast riff attacks and excellent song lines of “God Of War” reminds one of Helloween in their “Keeper Of The Seven Keys” times, but at a much higher voltage.

– Album info from

Editors' Recommendations