How to make a group chat on Snapchat

Our smartphones help keep us connected to our friends and family across the globe. But, since nothing beats a good party, you’re probably wondering if there’s a way you can add a bunch of your friends or family into a group to communicate together to share stories, laughs, and good times.

Fortunately, you’re in luck. Read on, and we’ll cover how you can easily make group chats with all your friends in one place with Snapchat.

How to create a group chat

To create the chat, go to the Friends screen by tapping on the word-bubble Chat icon on the lower left side of the screen. Then, tap the New Chat icon at the upper right-hand side of the screen. This icon looks like a word bubble, too, but with a pen. From there, tap New Group, then go through the friends list below and tap on the names you want to add to the chat. When you’re done, tap Chat with Group.

How to run your group chat

Once your group chat is created, you can customize it and change how the members interact. First, tap on the pencil icon at the top of the screen and name your chat. If you want to go beyond texting and sending snaps, tap the phone icon or the video icon to start an audio or visual chat.

You can also play games in your group chat. To start things up, tap the rocket icon beside the chat box and choose a game from the list that pops up.

If someone is getting rowdy, you can delete messages by pressing your finger on the message. A menu will pop up on the screen, giving you the option to save, copy, or delete the message.

How to add more people

Screenshot of Snapchat adding friends to group

If you need to add more friends to your chat, go to the Friends screen and hold your finger down on the group chat name. From the menu that pops up, choose More, and then tap Add Members to the Group. Choose friends from the list to finish.

How to leave a group chat

If you want to leave the chat you can do so without ruining everyone else’s fun. Go to the Friends screen and hold your finger down on the group chat. A menu will pop up. Choose More from the menu and tap Leave Group. You’ll see a popup asking you to confirm you want to leave. Once you leave, all chats that you sent will be deleted, even if someone saved them.

If you’re not ready to leave, but all the notifications are annoying, go to the same menu and choose Message Notification from the options instead of Leave Group. Then, choose Silent.

Editors' Recommendations