Aquaman, Cyborg, Suicide Squad, and Green Lantern are all coming to the big screen

Back in August 2014, Warner Bros. tried to draw attention away from its decision to move Batman V. Superman: Dawn Of Justice out of competition with the third Captain America movie by announcing the release dates for nine unidentified films from the DC Comics universe. During this week’s Time Warner Investor Day, Warner Bros. CEO Kevin Tsujihara finally revealed the identities of the aforementioned films, offering a glimpse at the studio’s grand plans for the big-screen component of the DC Comics universe.

The next few years will be busy ones for WB, with Batman V. Superman: Dawn Of Justice kicking things off in March 2016, followed by Suicide Squad on August 5, 2016. Directed by David Ayer (FuryEnd Of Watch), Suicide Squad would appear to be inspired by the DC Comics series of the same name about a team of supervillains forced to undertake dangerous missions for the government.

The following year, Gal Gadot will reprise her role from Batman V. Superman: Dawn Of Justice in a Wonder Woman solo movie, premiering June 23, 2017. That will be followed by The Justice League, Part One on November 10, 2017. The latter film will be directed by Zack Snyder, who has become the de facto architect of DC Comics’ cinematic universe.

In 2018, actor Ezra Miller (The Perks Of Being A Wallflower, We Need To Talk About Kevin) will portray DC’s scarlet speedster in the March 23 film The Flash, which is expected to diverge from the television incarnation of the character that debuted this month in his own, live-action series. This news in particular makes it relatively clear that the television side of the live-action DC Comics universe will exist independently from the big-screen projects, and the casting of Miller — who’s generally known for playing angsty, brooding characters — may indicate that the film will echo the darker, grim-and-gritty tone established by Man Of Steel.

Also arriving in theaters that year will be Aquaman, the long-rumored solo film featuring Jason Momoa as DC’s King of Atlantis, which is scheduled for a July 27 premiere.

In 2019, Dwayne Johnson will play the villain Black Adam in Shazam, which hits theaters April 5. That will be followed by Justice League, Part Two on on June 14, 2019, which will also be directed by Snyder.

Ray Fisher will then star in Cyborg, which hits theaters April 3, 2020, and puts the spotlight on the Justice League’s cybernetic superhero. Fisher is expected to make his debut as the character in Batman V. Superman, though it may be pushed to the first Justice League movie.

The slate will be capped off by a reboot of Green Lantern on June 19, 2020.

Just to recap, here’s how the schedule looks:

  • March 25, 2016 – Batman V. Superman: Dawn Of Justice
  • August 5, 2016 – Suicide Squad
  • June 23, 2017 – Wonder Woman
  • November 10, 2017 – Justice League, Part One
  • March 23, 2018 – The Flash
  • July 27, 2018 – Aquaman
  • April 5, 2019 – Shazam
  • June 14, 2019 – Justice League, Part Two
  • April 3, 2020 – Cyborg
  • June 19, 2020 – Green Lantern

While the studio’s plans have already generated quite a bit of debate, one thing’s certain: Fans of superhero movies have no shortage of options over the next few years.

Movies & TV

Final X-Men: Dark Phoenix trailer sends Marvel’s mutants into space

20th Century Fox has released a new trailer for X-Men: Dark Phoenix, which puts the spotlight on Game of Thrones actress Sophie Turner as the powerful, telepathic mutant Jean Grey.
Movies & TV

The best movies on Netflix in March, from Buster Scruggs to Roma

Save yourself from hours wasted scrolling through Netflix's massive library by checking out our picks for the streamer's best movies available right now, whether you're into explosive action, witty humor, or anything else.

Make some room in your backlog. Here are all the games to look out for in 2019

2019 is already a huge year for video games, with a large number of series getting new installments, including some that have been dormant for years. Brand new franchises are also being created.

The best of the last generation: Our 50 favorite Xbox 360 games

The Xbox 360 thrived during a generation where games were plentiful. Here's our list of the best Xbox 360 games of all time, including all game genres and even a few special indie hits.

This list of PlayStation 4 exclusives puts its competitors to shame

The PlayStation 4's game library and incredible selection of exclusive games could make anyone with an Xbox One or Nintendo Switch think twice. Here's our list of the latest and greatest PS4 exclusives.
Movies & TV

The best Black Mirror episodes are disturbing, mesmerizing, and provocative

After watching all 19 episodes across four seasons and one movie, we selected and ranked the best Black Mirror episodes released so far. Read on to find out if your favorite episode from the award-winning Netflix series made the list.
Movies & TV

The Game of Thrones season premiere was pirated 54 million times in 24 hours

Winter is here, and so are the pirates. The debut episode of Game of Thrones' final season was pirated 54 million times in the 24 hours after it aired, almost tripling the show's official viewership totals.
Movies & TV

From comedies to biopics, these are the best movies about music and musicians

The best movies about music range from hilarious comedies to powerful and informative biopics that illuminate the world of sonic expression from all possible angles. Here are our current favorites.
Home Theater

Here's how to turn off subtitles on Netflix, no matter the device

Subtitles are great if you want or need them, but they can be a major headache if you’ve somehow turned them on by accident and can’t figure out how to get rid of them. Don't worry, it's not as complicated as it seems.
Movies & TV

New trailer for Hobbs & Shaw introduces Idris Elba’s Black Superman

A new trailer for Fast & Furious franchise spinoff Hobbs & Shaw has arrived and it ups the ante with even more crazy action featuring stars Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham, as well as new addition Idris Elba.
Movies & TV

Marvel releases more footage from Avengers: Endgame in latest TV ad

The events of Avengers: Infinity War changed the Marvel Cinematic Universe in some big ways and left fans wondering how its heroes can possibly recover. Here's everything we know about Avengers: Endgame, the sequel to Infinity War.
Home Theater

From the Roku Ultra to the Fire TV Cube, these are the best streaming devices

There are more options for media streamers than ever, so it’s difficult to pick the best option. But that’s why we're here. Our curated list of the best streaming devices will get you online in no time.

Avengers aftermath: From The Eternals to The Boys, things are about to get weird

On this week's show, we'll take a deep dive into what's coming after Avengers: Endgame. Sure, it's probably going to be the biggest movie ever, but what about Marvel/Disney's Phase 4? We'll tell you why The Eternals may be a big part of it.
Movies & TV

Clip from John Wick: Chapter 3 confirms the dog is totally fine

John Wick: Chapter 3 — Parabellum, the third installment of the wildly successful action series that stars Keanu Reeves as a deadly assassin forced out of retirement, hits theaters in May 2019. Here's everything we know about it so far.