R. Kelly says he wrote ‘462 songs’ for his new album: Here’s the first single

R. Kelly is in another rift with his girl on Let’s Be Real Now, a new track off of his upcoming record called The Buffet which drops Friday. “I don’t know if I’mma be able to give you what you want,” begins the Chicago-born singer/songwriter. He then explains that she’s asking too much of him, calling her “f*cking crazy.”

But he’s not the only one mad in this story. Tinashe, the featured artist in the song, gives her own opinion in another verse beginning with the short but sweet line “No disrespect to the time that we spent but, boy, you must be trippin’.” It sounds like neither of them are off the hook in the story, but Tinashe’s sultry voice certainly steals the musical show on this track.

The Buffet, R. Kelly’s 13th studio record, will also feature Lil Wayne, Jhene Aiko, Ty Dolla $ign, Jeremih, Juicy J, Wizkid, and his own teenage daughter who goes by Ariiraye. The R&B musical mastermind with a questionable personal past said he wrote 462 songs for the record — including a country song.

“They’re not ideas, they are whole full songs,” he said to Entertainment Weekly. “I wanted to be sure that I really nailed it to the point that when I started breaking it down to the 14, 15, 16 songs that go on the album that I had more than enough to choose from, and they would all be great choices.”

Expect plenty of themes of sex and love on The Buffet, as per usual. “R&B should be making love,” said R. Kelly to Vulture. “It should be sex with a little comical feeling; all that shit when you macking to a girl so you can get with her.”

Sounds like he hasn’t strayed far from his timeless R&B jam Ignition (Remix) on the upcoming record. We’re alright with that — musically, at least.

Editors' Recommendations