Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Social Media
  3. Mobile
  4. Photography
  5. News

Instagram now lets you hide your embarrassing pics in a special place

Add as a preferred source on Google

If you’ve ever shared an image on Instagram that you later felt was a little on the embarrassing side or didn’t seem to fit with your existing collection, there’s now a way to get rid of it without wiping it from your account. This will let you come back to it later if you decide it’s not so bad after all, so that you can repost it on your profile page, or you can simply hold it in a private collection, for your eyes only.

Instagram started testing its new Archive feature with select users last month, and launched it on Tuesday, June 13 as part of its latest update — v10.21 — for iOS and Android users.

Recommended Videos

“Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time,” Instagram said in a post introducing the new feature. “With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter.”

So how do you use it? Well, to archive a photo or video that you’ve already posted, first select the image and then tap “…” at the top of the screen. Finally, select Archive from the list of options that appear.

To view your archived content, tap the circular arrow symbol on the top of your profile page, and then tap on Archive at the top to switch between posts and stories. If you want to return a post to your public collection, simply tap the “…” again, and select “show on profile” from the list. It will immediately return to its original spot on your public profile page, there for all to see.

Oh, and archiving a photo or video retains all the likes and comments, so there’ll still be there if you decide to repost.

Image used with permission by copyright holder

It seems Instagram is hoping the new feature will encourage its users to think twice about deleting content, though that may prove tough with those — particularly teens — already in the habit of keeping only their favorite 25 images on their profile, and otherwise deleting content as and when required.

If users transfer their images to their Archive rather than delete them, they’ll probably dive into that Archive from time to time, increasing the amount of time they spend interacting with Instagram, which will of course please advertisers who use the platform.

Trevor Mogg
Contributing Editor
Not so many moons ago, Trevor moved from one tea-loving island nation that drives on the left (Britain) to another (Japan)…
I picked 6 Amazon Prime Day deals to make your home office more comfortable
Give your workspace a much-needed upgrade without paying full price.
best-ergonomic-chair-standing-desk-prime-day-deal-2026

Prime Day is a good excuse to finally upgrade the home office setup where you spend most of the day working. I’ve rounded up six ergonomic office chairs and standing desks that can make your workspace more comfortable, flexible, and productive. Whether you need better support or more room to move, these deals cover different budgets.

Flexispot ErgoX Ergonomic Office Chair - $250 (29% off)

Read more
Instagram may soon let you lurk on profiles without leaving a trace
Instagram may finally solve your biggest fear of accidentally liking an old post.
Instagram on an iPhone.

Have you ever scrolled through someone's profile and accidentally liked a photo from four years ago? Instagram may be working on a way to stop that.

Leaker and reverse engineer Alessandro Paluzzi posted on X on Oct. 3 about a read-only mode the app appears to be developing. The feature would essentially turn profile browsing into spectator mode, removing several ways to interact with an account.

Read more
X is apparently cooking up a cheaper verified badge, more Grok AI subscriptions are also on the table
X’s next subscription shake-up could put Grok in nearly every tier
Social Media

X (formerly Twitter) could be planning another overhaul, and this time, Grok might be moving to more subscription tiers. SpaceXAI is considering combining X and Grok into a new four-tier subscription structure, according to an internal document viewed by Bloomberg.

The proposed lineup would stretch from a free option with tighter Grok usage limits all the way to a $100-per-month Ultra plan aimed at power users. A new $8-per-month Lite plan is in the works, which could include access to Grok, a blue verified checkmark, and fewer ads on X.

Read more