Skip to main content

How to watch two space tourists launch to the space station

NASA Live: Official Stream of NASA TV

Two space tourists from Japan are about to head to the International Space Station (ISS) for an 11-day stay.

Billionaire entrepreneur Yusaku Maezawa, who made his money in online fashion retail, is believed to have paid tens of millions of dollars for the trip. He will be taking with him video producer Yozo Hirano, who will be documenting the experience. Also traveling aboard the Russian Soyuz capsule will be veteran cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin.

The crew heading to the space station.
Left to right: Yozo Hirano, Alexander Misurkin, Yusaku Maezawa Yusaku Maezawa

The trio will launch from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on Tuesday night U.S time, with docking at the ISS expected to take place about six hours later.

Maezawa and Hirano have been training for the mission since June, with Maezawa using Twitter to report on his preparations.

The trip, organized by Roscosmos (Russia’s space agency) and Virginia-based Space Adventures, comes just a few months after the ISS hosted two other amateur astronauts, Russian filmmaker Yulia Peresild and producer Klim Shipenko. With Shipenko filming and Peresild acting, the pair shot scenes for a movie called Challenge.

In early 2022, the ISS will host another three space tourists in a mission that will launch from U.S. soil using SpaceX hardware.

How to watch

This week’s launch will take place at 11:38 p.m. PT on Tuesday, December 7 (2:38 a.m. ET on Wednesday/12:38 p.m. Baikonur time on Wednesday).

Following a six-hour journey, the Soyuz spacecraft will dock with the space station’s Poisk module at 5:41 a.m. PT (8:41 a.m. ET). About two hours after docking, Maezawa, Hirano, and Misurkin will make their way into the ISS, where they’ll meet the other seven crewmembers.

NASA will livestream the launch and docking. You can watch the coverage on the video player embedded at the top of this page or by heading to NASA’s website.

Coverage will start at 11 p.m. PT Tuesday (2 a.m. ET Wednesday), 38 minutes before launch.

For the docking, coverage will start at 5 a.m. PT Wednesday (8 a.m. ET Wednesday), 41 minutes before the Soyuz spacecraft arrives at the orbiting outpost.

Footage of the hatch opening and welcoming ceremony will start at 7:15 a.m. PT Wednesday (10:15 a.m. ET Wednesday).

Editors' Recommendations

Trevor Mogg
Contributing Editor
Not so many moons ago, Trevor moved from one tea-loving island nation that drives on the left (Britain) to another (Japan)…
How to watch homecoming SpaceX astronauts fly overhead on Tuesday
SpaceX's Crew-6 reentering Earth's atmosphere.

SpaceX’s Crew-7 astronauts undocked from the International Space Station (ISS) at 11:20 a.m. ET on Monday after a six-and-a-half-month stay aboard the orbital outpost.

NASA astronaut Jasmin Moghbeli, ESA (European Space Agency) astronaut Andreas Mogensen, JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency) astronaut Satoshi Furukawa, and Roscosmos cosmonaut Konstantin Borisov are expected to splash down in the Gulf of Mexico at around 5:50 a.m. ET on Tuesday morning. If the skies are clear, folks in more than a dozen states will be able to witness the crew’s homecoming as the capsule flies overhead.

Read more
How to watch SpaceX Crew-7 return to Earth this week
SpaceX Crew-7 aboard the Crew Dragon spacecraft at the start of their mission in August 2023.

NASA’s SpaceX Crew-7 Re-entry and Splashdown

SpaceX’s Crew-7 is preparing to depart the International Space Station (ISS) after a six-and-a-half-month stay aboard the orbital outpost some 250 miles above Earth. NASA will live-stream all of the key moments of the homecoming (full details below).

Read more
How to watch Crew-8 arrive at the space station tonight
A SpaceX Crew Dragon carrying the Ax-3 crew departs from the space station in February 2024.

NASA Live: Official Stream of NASA TV

SpaceX’s Crew-8 members are about to arrive at the International Space Station after launching from the Kennedy Space Center on Monday.

Read more