Have a PC? Play ‘Quake Champions’ during 10-day open tech test

Quake Champions will be opened to all PC gamers from May 12 to 21, Bethesda said on Monday. The company is calling this event its Large Scale Tech Test, and an access code will not be required to play. The game will remain open to play 24/7 during the 10-day event.

Because the Large Scale Tech Test will be open to anyone, players of Quake Champions won’t be bound to a nondisclosure agreement. This will allow all players to stream, capture, and share anything regarding the upcoming shooter. Up until May 12, Bethesda is exclusively providing all information regarding Quake Champions.

In addition to the upcoming open beta, players new and old to Quake Champions will experience a new 4v4 team-based mode called “Sacrifice.” Bethesda doesn’t say much about this new mode other than that players will form teams and choose a Champion “to work together to dominate the Arenas.” It will join the current Deathmatch and Team Deathmatch modes.

Throughout the closed beta process that began on April 6, Bethesda sent out additional access codes to hopeful PC gamers each week. The Large Scale Tech Test will be the first time Bethesda throws open the Quake Champions doors to any willing PC gamer, so expect some initial delays.

Content-wise, there doesn’t appear to be anything new in regard to maps and Champions heading into the Large Scale Tech Test. The map list still consists of Blood Covenant, Ruins of Sarnath, and Burial Chamber.  The Champions roster includes Ranger, Galena, Scalebearer, Slash, Nyx, Clutch, and Anarki.

Bethesda’s Quake Champions is a multiplayer-only game for the PC that carries the torch passed on by Quake III Arena/Quake Live. It incorporates the multiplayer characters from Quake, Quake II, and Quake III Arena while introducing new “Champions” to the Quake mythos. The three maps introduced so far indicate that id Software will be heavy-handed in the Cthulhu-inspired gothic environmental design.

The first Quake hit the PC gaming scene in June 1996,and was one of the first titles to rely on polygons instead of traditional, flat sprites. Players take on the role of Ranger in “Operation Counterstrike” to take down an alien code-named Quake (aka, Shub-Niggurath). Its invasion is the result of humans tampering with teleportation technology.

Quake’s didn’t find huge success in the single-player campaign, but in its multiplayer capability. While players could battle each other in both multiplayer and campaign maps on a network, they could also play strangers online. Of course, the technology was in its infancy at the time partially due to the dependence on quirky dial-up modems, but Quake’s huge multiplayer success opened the doors to other games following down the online path, including Quake II and Quake III Arena.

Quake Champions is slated to arrive in 2017, and with the Large Scale Tech Test starting May 12, the game appears close to hitting retail. It will follow Quake 4, released in 2005, which was handled by Heretic/Hexen developer Raven Software.


The Teslasuit could turn Black Mirror’s terrifying ‘Playtest’ into a reality

We spoke with Teslasuit co-founder Dimitri Mikhalchuk about VR gaming at CES 2019. With all its features, the future of the Teslasuit and virtual reality look bright. And it also sounds a bit like a Black Mirror episode.

Lexus LC convertible concept teases a new open-air flagship

Debuting at the 2019 Detroit Auto Show, the Lexus LC convertible concept adds open-air motoring to the sleek LC's resume. But Lexus won't commit to a production version of the car just yet.

You're never too broke to enjoy the best free-to-play games

Believe it or not, free-to-play games have evolved into engaging, enjoyable experiences. Here are a few of our favorites that you can play right now, including Warframe and the perennially-popular League of Legends.

Alienware Academy uses Tobii eye tracking to improve your gaming skills

The new competitive gaming lessons program Alienware Academy is now open to the public to assist with Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, and it supports Tobii eye tracking for analytics.

Still have holiday cash to blow? Grab one of these awesome Xbox One games

More than four years into its life span, Microsoft's latest console is finally coming into its own. From Cuphead to Halo 5, the best Xbox One games offer something for players of every type.
Emerging Tech

Awesome Tech You Can’t Buy Yet: heat-powered watches, phone cases with reflexes

Check out our roundup of the best new crowdfunding projects and product announcements that hit the web this week. You may not be able to buy this stuff yet, but it sure is fun to gawk!

Verizon video game streaming service leaked, currently testing on Nvidia Shield

Verizon is currently testing a video game streaming service that is already running on the Nvidia Shield set-top box, according to The Verge. The platform, named Verizon Gaming, will also eventually launch on Android smartphones.

Dataminers discover SNES games, more emulators for Nintendo Switch Online

Nintendo Switch Online may soon launch SNES games and more emulators, according to data miners. The list of hidden SNES titles include Breath of Fire 2 and Star Fox 2, while the other emulators may be the Nintendo 64 and Nintendo GameCube.

‘RollerCoaster Tycoon 2’ ride takes 12 years to complete

A RollerCoaster Tycoon 2 player has constructed a coaster in the game that will take more than 12 years to complete from beginning to end, and is actually a tiny ride taking up a small portion of the landscape.

‘Battlefield V’ adds Squad Conquest mode in ‘Lightning Strikes’ update

Electronic Arts and DICE have detailed what is included in the Battlefield V update Lightning Strikes. The update includes access to the mode Squad Conquest through the end of January.

Here's everything you need to know to trade in 'Pokémon Go'

After literally years of waiting, Pokémon Go finally gives trainers the option to trade Pokémon with others. It's not easy, though, and the cost is quite high if you try trading with strangers.

‘Rocket League’ is the latest game to get full cross-platform play

Psyonix has announced that Rocket League now supports full cross-platform play across PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PC, joining Fortnite as the only games to do so.

Here's what you need to know about 'World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth'

World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth is the latest expansion for the now 14-year-old MMORPG. It goes back to the roots of the Alliance vs. Horde conflict. Here's what you need to know.
Product Review

'New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe' is 2D platforming wizardry

New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is the latest Wii U game to come back from the dead on Switch. And wow, it’s much better than we remembered.