Second 'A Series of Unfortunate Events' trailer spans four novels in two minutes

Netflix has released a second trailer for its upcoming adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. The series is set to star Neil Patrick Harris as the villainous Count Olaf, and Patrick Warburton as the titular author and narrator Snicket.

A Series of Unfortunate Events tells the story of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire, three children who are forced to resist Count Olaf’s attempts to steal their family fortune after the untimely death of their parents. Over the course of 13 novels, the orphans delve into a mystery that links their family with Olaf.

“If you are interested in stories with happy endings, that story is streaming elsewhere,” Snicket states at the beginning of the trailer. “I would advise all our viewers to watch something more pleasant instead.”

Warburton’s presence in the trailer seems to confirm that we’ll actually see Snicket on screen in this adaptation, whereas in the 2004 film, Jude Law’s performance as the character was limited to spoken narration. The new footage also confirms exactly which books from the series will be covered in the first season of the Netflix show.

It stands to reason that the first novel, The Bad Beginning, will be adapted for the show, given that it introduces the Baudelaire children and their nemesis Count Olaf. However, we also see Olaf’s Stephano disguise from The Reptile Room, Aunt Josephine from The Wide Window, and the mill from The Miserable Mill.

Each book will seemingly be adapted across two episodes of the show. This might seem like cause for concern, but given that each novel clocks in at around 200 pages, there should be plenty of time to do these stories justice in this format.

All eight episodes of the first season of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events will be available on Netflix from January 13, 2017.


Weekend box office: Curse of La Llorona tops Shazam! over slow Easter weekend

Warner Bros. Pictures' horror film The Curse of La Llorona beat pundits' predictions and middling reviews to end the two-week reign of superhero adventure Shazam! at the top of the U.S. box office.
Movies & TV

'Prime'-time TV: Here are the best shows on Amazon Prime right now

There's more to Amazon Prime than free two-day shipping, including access to a number of phenomenal shows at no extra cost. To make the sifting easier, here are our favorite shows currently streaming on Amazon Prime.
Movies & TV

Skip the flowers and sunshine this spring and watch the best shows on Hulu

It's often overwhelming to navigate Hulu's robust library of TV shows. To help, we put together a list of the best shows on Hulu, whether you're into frenetic cartoons, intelligent dramas, or anything in between.
Movies & TV

The best movies on Netflix in March, from Buster Scruggs to Roma

Save yourself from hours wasted scrolling through Netflix's massive library by checking out our picks for the streamer's best movies available right now, whether you're into explosive action, witty humor, or anything else.
Movies & TV

The best shows on Netflix right now (April 2019)

Looking for a new show to binge? Lucky for you, we've curated a list of the best shows on Netflix, whether you're a fan of outlandish anime, dramatic period pieces, or shows that leave you questioning what lies beyond.
Movies & TV

The best movies on Amazon Prime Video right now (April 2019)

Amazon Prime Video provides subscribers with access to a host of fantastic films, but sorting through the catalog can be a major undertaking. Luckily, we've done the work for you. Here are the best movies on Amazon Prime Video right now.
Movies & TV

HBO’s Game of Thrones episode 3 preview looks ahead to the Battle of Winterfell

HBO released a brief video that teases the upcoming third episode of Game of Thrones' eighth and final season. It will feature the long-awaited Battle of Winterfell that pits the show's key characters against The Night King's undead army.
Movies & TV

Best new podcasts of the week of April 13, 2019: Spacebridge and more

Feel like you’re drowning in podcasts? In this weekly series, we’ll help you pick out the best of the new and returning shows. This week’s picks include a spacebridge, love advice, Topher Grace, and bite-sized history.
Movies & TV

Want to make Netflix browsing even easier? Try this useful trick

If you know exactly what category of film you're looking for on Netflix, you'll find this hack for the streaming service useful. It allows you to manually browse genres and subgenres of interest.
Movies & TV

Watch the Captain Marvel, other MCU post-credits scenes before Avengers: Endgame

Catch up on the Marvel Cinematic Universe's ongoing storyline before Avengers: Endgame's big finale by watching the post-credits scenes for every Marvel film, including Captain Marvel, via Twitter.
Home Theater

Here’s what’s new on HBO and what’s leaving in May 2019

Whether you're a cable lifer or a staunch cord cutter, there's never been a better time to get down with premium TV. May 2019 brings the Deadwood movie, the final episode of Game of Thrones, and the PG-13 version of Deadpool 2 on HBO.

Swing Thor’s Stormbreaker during the Fortnite-Avengers: Endgame crossover

Epic Games revealed a new crossover with Marvel and Disney's Avengers: Endgame film, showing off Captain America's shield. Players will also get to summon the powers of a god as well when they wield Thor's Stormbreaker.
Movies & TV

Disney Plus will have less than 20% of the content available on Netflix

Disney is bringing the full weight of its massive content library to its own streaming service in 2019. How will Disney Plus compare to Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon Prime? Here's what we know so far.
Movies & TV

First reactions say that Avengers: Endgame will make you laugh and cry

The events of Avengers: Infinity War changed the Marvel Cinematic Universe in some big ways and left fans wondering how its heroes can possibly recover. Here's everything we know about Avengers: Endgame, the sequel to Infinity War.