Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Phones
  3. Mobile
  4. Social Media
  5. News

WhatsApp launches disappearing messages. Here’s how to turn it on

Add as a preferred source on Google
How to send disappearing messages on WhatsApp

WhatsApp is adding a new option for users that, if enabled, will see chat messages disappear after seven days.

Recommended Videos

Facebook-owned WhatsApp said the feature will help make a conversation “feel lighter and more private.”

It said it set the time span at seven days because “it offers peace of mind that conversations aren’t permanent, while remaining practical so you don’t forget what you were chatting about,” adding, “The shopping list or store address you received a few days ago will be there while you need it, and then disappear after you don’t.”

In a person-to-person chat, either of the two participants can turn disappearing messages on or off. In a group chat, admins control the feature.

WhatsApp users can enable disappearing messages by going to a contact’s information page and tapping Disappearing Messages. If prompted, tap Continue, and then select On. The video at the top also shows you how to manage the feature.

It’s important to point out that there are cases where messages could still be viewed even if the feature is enabled. As per WhatsApp:

  • If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven day period, the message will disappear. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
  • When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days.
  • If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat.
  • If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.

Remember that a simple screenshot can preserve a message, too.

Finally, it’s also worth noting that photos and videos received to WhatsApp are saved to your photos by default. If you enable the disappearing message option, media sent in the chat will disappear after seven days but will be saved on the phone if auto-download is on. If you don’t want this to happen, you can turn off auto-download by going to a contact’s information page, tapping on Save to Camera Roll, and selecting Never.

The new WhatsApp feature lands for all users globally this month.

New to WhatsApp? Here’s how to use it.

Trevor Mogg
Contributing Editor
Not so many moons ago, Trevor moved from one tea-loving island nation that drives on the left (Britain) to another (Japan)…
Google wants your Pixel to see you in the dark, and its fix is almost blindingly obvious
Google’s dark-room fix may be a brighter screen.
Gemini on Pixel 11 Pro XL.

Camera-based face unlock has one embarrassing weakness: it can’t recognize what it can’t see, which means it doesn’t work well in the dark. 

Looks like Google already knows this, and it’s working on a fix. Code spotted in Android 17 QPR3 Beta 2 points to a new feature called “Face Active Illumination,” which would brighten the display to light your face, similar to how the front flash works with selfies.

Read more
Google Chrome’s new early warning system could help you spot scam sites
Chrome can now flag websites that look suspicious even when Safe Browsing is not confident enough to call them dangerous.
Chrome

Anyone who has used Google Chrome has probably seen the red warning screen when they click a suspicious link or try to visit a potentially dangerous website. Google is now beefing up this warning system by adding a new layer that will flag websites that seem fishy, even when Safe Browsing does not have enough confidence to classify them as outright dangerous.

The new Suspicious sites category is being added to Chrome’s Enhanced Protection mode and will sit below the existing Dangerous sites classification. Google says these are pages that show deceptive patterns commonly associated with malicious websites, but where Safe Browsing has a lower-confidence verdict.

Read more
DoorDash and Uber Eats have a new rival, and it wants you to stop paying extra for food
Why pay more for the same burger? Olo wants to cut menu markups, because your dinner bill is expensive enough.
olo-food-delivery-app

Food delivery apps can make your favorite meal expensive even before it reaches your door. This is why Olo is entering the food delivery market with a new app promising restaurant menu prices without the usual markups.

Available on iOS and Android, the app launched today with more than 250 national and regional restaurant brands. Olo says customers could save 15% to 30% on menu items compared with rival delivery apps with markups.

Read more