Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Phones
  3. Android
  4. Apple
  5. Cars
  6. Mobile
  7. News

Uber makes it easier to delete your account, tougher to track your location

Add as a preferred source on Google

Uber is making it easier to delete your account. On Friday, the ridesharing service announced Privacy Settings, a new system within the iOS and Android apps that offers self-service data controls.

One new setting, known internally as “Dear John,” wipes your account data from Uber’s servers. Once the process begins, you have 30 days to reverse it if you change your mind. But after that time elapses, everything you’ve shared with Uber, including your payments information, saved receipts, addresses, contacts, and UberEats delivery data, is purged from the company’s servers.

Recommended Videos

It’s more thorough than uninstalling the Uber app, which doesn’t delete account data. And it’s easier than the old account deletion method, which required you to contact Uber’s support team.

“We would often get a lot of questions about what’s deleted from our servers,” Zach Singleton, product manager at Uber, told The Verge. “Internally, this lets us manage it better in terms of scale.”

Image used with permission by copyright holder

Uber said that Dear John wasn’t in response to #DeleteUber, a social media protest in response to Uber CEO Travis Kalanick’s position on an advisory committee to President Donald Trump. According to the New York Times, more than 500,000 people deleted their accounts in the period of a few weeks.

“We’ve been working on improving this [account deletion] experience for more than a year,” an Uber spokesperson told The Verge.

The other new Privacy Settings tools have to do with location data. Last fall, Uber removed the option to let users share their location on a per-ride basis, instead tracking location by default for up to five minutes after rides ended. Now, a new screen explains how to disable location tracking, and lets users choose whether or not to let contacts hail a ride in their location.

Uber said the new Privacy Settings will become available to users over the next few weeks.

Uber has faced a maelstrom of criticism over allegations that its employees violated users’ privacy. According to a report from The Center for Investigative Reporting’s Reveal website, some Uber employees used “God View,” an internal location-tracking tool, to monitor the whereabouts of ex-girlfriends and celebrities — including pop star Beyoncé.

The allegations do further harm to the embattled company’s image. Uber has been accused of fostering a toxic corporate culture and mounting a program called Greyball, which it allegedly used to deceive lay enforcement and evade regulators in cities where the ridesharing service wasn’t welcomed by local authorities.

Kyle Wiggers
Kyle Wiggers is a writer, Web designer, and podcaster with an acute interest in all things tech. When not reviewing gadgets…
Apple admits iPhone Duo is in limited supply, and it’s unclear if you can bag one for your holiday cart
iPhone Duo's rear camera selfie preview on the cover screen.

Apple executives rarely say “we can’t predict that” about their brand-new products, so I perked up when one did.

The Cupertino giant has admitted the iPhone Duo is supply-constrained. COO Sabih Khan told investors on Monday’s earnings call that it is “constrained as of today” (via Investing.com). 

Read more
Apple issues a grim warning as memory costs soar. It seems pricey iPhones and Macs are here to stay
Apple’s memory bill is climbing, and your receipt may follow.
MacBook Pro PROLED XDR laptop

Whether it’s iPhones, iPads, or MacBooks, Apple has already slapped revised price tags on a long list of products. Since these products already cost hundreds of dollars more than they did (especially MacBooks and the Mac mini, which use highly capable M-series chips), I was quietly hoping this was it.

However, during its recent earnings call, Apple ended that hope. The company has warned that memory chip prices are climbing at an “unprecedented” pace, with CEO John Ternus telling investors that costs will be even higher in the December quarter (via The Guardian).

Read more
Adobe Premiere mobile app is getting licensed music from Universal and Warner Music
On the editing side, there’s a bit of a restriction, as users can only add 60 seconds of a song to their video.
Adobe Premiere ona laptop

Adobe has just announced that it’s bringing licensed music from Universal Music Group (UMG) and Warner Music Group (WMG) to its Adobe Premiere mobile app. Thanks to the partnership, users will be able to search for and find music from these two giants right in the app.

For social media users, this partnership also solves a huge problem. When people post content with music playing in the background, it’s often flagged for copyright violations on social media platforms. Now, if they pick a soundtrack distributed by either Universal Music Group or Warner Music Group, they can simply add it to their videos and post them freely across social media for personal use, without having to worry about copyright strikes and takedown notices.

Read more