Remember Me dev announces episodic narrative experiment Life is Strange

life is strange episode two march 24
Square Enix and Dontnod, developer of the artful sci fi brawler Remember Me, have announced Life is Strange, a wholly new IP that purports to push the boundaries of both gameplay and narrative. The game will roll out episodically, with the effects of your actions cascading into subsequent episodes, in the style of Telltale Games‘ episodic series’.

Life is Strange will follow Max Caulfield, who returns home to Oregon after five years away to discover that his schoolmate Rachel Amber has vanished under mysterious circumstances. While trying to uncover the truth, Max discovers that she has developed the power to rewind time.

Related: Time-twisting gimmicks don’t save Remember Me from mediocrity (review)

The most interesting elements of Dontnod’s previous game, Remember Me, were the cyberpunk memory hacking sequences in which protagonist Nilin would enter the minds of her adversaries and manipulate their memories to suit her needs. Those sequences were the innovative standout of an otherwise uninspired brawler. It is encouraging to see the developer leaning into the mechanic by going literal with time travel instead of memory manipulation, and building a game around it rather than just tacking it on to a safer, known genre.

The concept bears a marked similarity to The Black Glove, another narrative-focused time travel game being developed by former Irrational Games developers. Both games invoke the butterfly effect as a way to gamify causality and experiment with systemic narrative, as invoked by Ken Levine in is recent GDC talk.

Life is Strange is set to release on PC and PlayStation/Xbox consoles. Square has brought a playable form of the game to Gamescom 2014, so expect more specifics as the public gets their hands on it in Cologne.


The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening is endearing and wonderfully weird

The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening is as magically weird as I remembered. The super cute art style fits Koholint Island so well, and Nintendo improved multiple, critical mechanics.
Movies & TV

Prime-time TV: Here are the best shows on Amazon Prime right now

There's more to Amazon Prime than free two-day shipping, including access to a number of phenomenal shows at no extra cost. To make the sifting easier, here are our favorite TV series currently streaming on Amazon Prime.
Movies & TV

Skip the sunshine this summer and watch the best shows on Hulu

It's often overwhelming to navigate Hulu's robust library of TV shows. To help, we put together a list of the best shows on Hulu, whether you're into frenetic cartoons, intelligent dramas, or anything in between.
Movies & TV

Who needs sunshine? Stay inside and watch the best movies on Netflix instead

Save yourself from hours wasted scrolling through Netflix's massive library by checking out our picks for the streamer's best movies available right now, whether you're into explosive action, witty humor, or anything else.
Movies & TV

The best shows on Netflix right now (June 2019)

Looking for a new show to binge? Lucky for you, we've curated a list of the best shows on Netflix, whether you're a fan of outlandish anime, dramatic period pieces, or shows that leave you questioning what lies beyond.

Don’t call it retro. Atari’s VCS is a modern console for PC gamers

You might think the Atari VCS is another retro console like the Nintendo SNES Classic or Sega Genesis Mini. You'd be wrong. Atari's VCS is actually a modern console that runs PC hardware. Yes, it can play Atari games, but it does much more.

Call of Duty: Mobile is the best shooter I’ve played on a smartphone

Call of Duty: Mobile attempts to put the franchise's tight gameplay in the palm of your hand. It's largely successful, thanks to precise controls and attractive graphics. The game arrives on iOS and Android later this year.

The PlayStation Network is back up. Here’s the latest on the PSN outage

Sony's PlayStation Network is back online after going down for several hours on Thursday afternoon, annoying legions of gamers right in the middle of E3. Here's the latest on the outage

Tesla screens may support YouTube with next software update

Tesla CEO Elon Musk announced today at E3 that the infotainment screens will support YouTube video streaming very soon. This most likely lines up with the latest software update that is expected later this year.

The best Nintendo Switch deals and bundles for June 2019

Looking to score Nintendo's latest console? We've smoked out the best Nintendo Switch deals, including discounts on bundles that feature must-have games like Super Mario Odyssey, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, and Zelda: Breath of the Wild.
Digital Trends Live

Digital Trends Live: Florida’s autonomous vehicle law, E3 updates, and more

On this episode of DT Live, we take a look at the biggest trending stories in tech, including Florida allowing fully autonomous vehicles on the road, Atari’s new gaming system, E3 updates, high-speed rail, and more.

Niantic Labs sues hackers who help players cheat in Pokémon Go

Niantic Labs has filed a lawsuit against Global++, who is said to be behind the hacked versions of Pokémon Go and Ingress. The legal action comes as the developer is preparing to launch Harry Potter: Wizards Unite.

How Epic Games almost made the mistake of ending Fortnite

Former Epic Games production director Rod Fergusson said that he would have canceled Fortnite if he stayed with the developer. The game only started soaring in popularity when the Battle Royale mode was released a few months after launch.
Emerging Tech

Awesome Tech You Can’t Buy Yet: Plant-based shoes and a ukulele learning aid

Check out our roundup of the best new crowdfunding projects and product announcements that hit the web this week. You may not be able to buy this stuff yet, but it sure is fun to gawk!