Skip to main content

Bungie’s ‘Destiny’ scheduled for September 2014

bungies destiny scheduled september 2014 screenshot
Image used with permission by copyright holder
Read our full Destiny review.

One of the most eagerly anticipated next-gen titles (and current gen for that matter), Bungie’s Destiny, has an official release date courtesy of the game’s official blog. Destiny will be released worldwide for PlayStation 3, PS4, Xbox 360, and Xbox One on September 9, 2014. The beta will launch in the summer of 2014 as a timed exclusive for the PS3 and PS4.

Destiny marks the first game Bungie has developed since completing work on the Halo series it created, and the first Bungie game to be developed for the PlayStation family as well as the Xbox.

The game takes place in a far future where humanity has been nearly wiped out after an event known as the “Collapse,” following the colonization of the solar system. The survivors live in a single city on Earth under the protection of “the Traveler,” a mysterious and powerful sphere that guards the remaining humans. One part FPS, one part MMORPG, Destiny will allow players to explore the solar system while completing quests alone or with friends.

Destiny has always represented a new beginning for our team,” the statement reads. “It was born from brave possibilities. We dreamed of a renewed and independent Bungie. We found partners willing to bet big on some crazy new ideas with us.”

Editors' Recommendations

Ryan Fleming
Former Digital Trends Contributor
Ryan Fleming is the Gaming and Cinema Editor for Digital Trends. He joined the DT staff in 2009 after spending time covering…
Here’s the entire Destiny 2 story explained, up through The Witch Queen
Destiny 2 Beyond Light Beginner's Guide.

Destiny 2 is here, kicking off a new chapter of Activision's wildly popular shared-world shooter. A lot has happened in the universe of Destiny since the original game launched, including expansions, large and small, which add to the story, and countless tweaks to the form and function of the game's fundamental elements. So much has happened, in fact, that a reminder might be in order for anyone wondering what's going on in Destiny these days.

The latest expansion, The Witch Queen, is actually the twelfth chapter in the Destiny saga, depending on how you count. Developer Bungie released Destiny in September 2014, followed by four major expansions: The Dark Below, House of Wolves, The Taken King, and Rise of Iron. Destiny 2 kicked off the series' second arc a few years back and has already seen a few expansions to progress the storyline even further.

Read more
Destiny 2 Iron Banner guide: How to earn the Iron Lord title
A group of 6 Destiny 2 players stand in a line, waiting for a match to start.

Lord Saladin, the legendary Titan in Destiny 2, has returned to the Tower and has brought his Iron Banner with him. There are some major changes to how this PVP-focused mode operates, and some of the tasks are, frankly, a bit confusing. Never fear, your friends at Digital Trends have braved the skirmishes and stood over defeated foes to break it all down for you in this guide. We will show you how to complete the Forged in Iron quest and get you started on the path to earning the Iron Lord title.

Read more
Destiny 2: How to unlock the Jötunn Catalyst
The Destiny 2 Exotic fusion rifle Jötunn up close, with stats in view.

Jötunn, the exotic fusion rifle in Destiny 2, is known for its ability to erase Hive wizards and oppose guardians in an instant. It’s a controversial weapon, one that can turn moderately skilled hands into a Guardian wrecking machine. And now it’s getting even better, with a brand new catalyst. We have everything you need to know about how to unlock the Jötunn Catalyst and what it does.

Read more