Skip to main content

Goodbye, camera roll! Snapchat launches Memories, a way to search your past snaps

snapchat targeted ads memories
Image used with permission by copyright holder
Snapchat may be known as the ephemeral social media network, however the company is now allowing users to look back in time, thanks to a new feature called Memories.

Memories is basically a way to save and share old snaps inside a folder, which acts somewhat as a camera-roll replacement for the scores of people turning to Snapchat as their main camera app. Within the folder, you can organize, edit, and re-share photos after they’ve been taken — a pretty significant shift for Snapchat.

Memories can be accessed simply by swiping up from the main camera screen. Of course, it’s important to note that in the past you have been also been able to save snaps to your camera roll, however the new feature saves those photos to the Snapchat servers, too. They can then be revisited from the Memories section.

When you open up the Memories section you’ll see your saved snaps in reverse-chronological order. You can also search through the photos based on their location and time stamp, and the search feature will show you snaps on their anniversary dates. Snapchat has even built object recognition right into the search feature, however it’s quick to point out that object recognition is processed on your phone rather than on Snapchat’s servers, adding an extra layer of privacy.

The move is certainly an interesting one for Snapchat. Long have its disappearing messages encouraged users to share quick glimpses of their lives — leading to a sense of safety in sharing based on the fact that the messages aren’t permanent. Still, you obviously can’t save someone else’s snaps to your Memories, only your own, so that sense of safety shouldn’t be disrupted too much by the new feature.

Memories is currently rolling out on both Android and iOS, so if you don’t have the new feature yet, you should in the near future.

Introducing Memories
Christian de Looper
Christian’s interest in technology began as a child in Australia, when he stumbled upon a computer at a garage sale that he…
How to make a GIF from a YouTube video
woman sitting and using laptop

Sometimes, whether you're chatting with friends or posting on social media, words just aren't enough -- you need a GIF to fully convey your feelings. If there's a moment from a YouTube video that you want to snip into a GIF, the good news is that you don't need complex software to so it. There are now a bunch of ways to make a GIF from a YouTube video right in your browser.

If you want to use desktop software like Photoshop to make a GIF, then you'll need to download the YouTube video first before you can start making a GIF. However, if you don't want to go through that bother then there are several ways you can make a GIF right in your browser, without the need to download anything. That's ideal if you're working with a low-specced laptop or on a phone, as all the processing to make the GIF is done in the cloud rather than on your machine. With these options you can make quick and fun GIFs from YouTube videos in just a few minutes.
Use GIFs.com for great customization
Step 1: Find the YouTube video that you want to turn into a GIF (perhaps a NASA archive?) and copy its URL.

Read more
I paid Meta to ‘verify’ me — here’s what actually happened
An Instagram profile on an iPhone.

In the fall of 2023 I decided to do a little experiment in the height of the “blue check” hysteria. Twitter had shifted from verifying accounts based (more or less) on merit or importance and instead would let users pay for a blue checkmark. That obviously went (and still goes) badly. Meanwhile, Meta opened its own verification service earlier in the year, called Meta Verified.

Mostly aimed at “creators,” Meta Verified costs $15 a month and helps you “establish your account authenticity and help[s] your community know it’s the real us with a verified badge." It also gives you “proactive account protection” to help fight impersonation by (in part) requiring you to use two-factor authentication. You’ll also get direct account support “from a real person,” and exclusive features like stickers and stars.

Read more
Here’s how to delete your YouTube account on any device
How to delete your YouTube account

Wanting to get out of the YouTube business? If you want to delete your YouTube account, all you need to do is go to your YouTube Studio page, go to the Advanced Settings, and follow the section that will guide you to permanently delete your account. If you need help with these steps, or want to do so on a platform that isn't your computer, you can follow the steps below.

Note that the following steps will delete your YouTube channel, not your associated Google account.

Read more