Skip to main content

Seven states team up in attempt to block AT&T and T-Mobile Merger

Sprint just gained seven new allies in the fight against AT&T’s purchase of T-Mobile. Seven states have joined the Justice Department’s lawsuit aiming to block the proposed merger. The states in question are California, Illinois, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio, and Pennsylvania. The seven states are worried that the merger will reduce competition, and would result in higher prices.

New York Attorney General Eric Schneiderman said, “”This proposed merger would stifle competition in markets that are crucial to New York’s consumers and businesses, while reducing access to low-cost options and the newest broadband-based technologies.” Price and competition are at the center of the debate on both sides, and it seems as though both sides have vastly differing views of the outcome of the possible merger.

AT&T spokesman Michael Balmoris said that, “it is not unusual for state attorney general to participate on DOJ merger review proceeding or court filings.” AT&T is still very confident that the deal will go through even with added competition. The company issued a massive formal response to the DOJ’s lawsuit earlier this month.  AT&T is requesting that the hearing start on January 16, which the DOJ is trying to delay until March 19.

Interestingly aside from the seven states trying to block the merger there are eleven states supporting the merger. They are Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, North Dakota, South Dakota, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Well it looks like we will have at least four months for the other 32 states to weigh in on where they stand.

Editors' Recommendations

Mike Dunn
Former Digital Trends Contributor
Mike graduated from University of Arizona with a degree in poetry, and made his big break by writing love sonnets to the…
Why the Sprint/T-Mobile merger could actually help the spread of 5G

Both Sprint and T-Mobile have made promises about when their customers in the U.S. would start seeing 5G coverage. In spring 2018, when the two telecommunications heavyweights first announced they would be merging, their CEOs wrote a joint “open letter to consumers” promising “5G for all." Almost two years later, with the long-foreshadowed Sprint-T-Mobile merger now legally approved, it looks like it could actually happen, experts say -- but those in underserved non-urban areas may have to keep waiting.

“This merger is very beneficial for T-Mobile, but it’s also beneficial for the U.S., and where we currently are in the global race to 5G,” said Steve Vachon, an analyst at Technology Business Research. “Now, the 5G plan is much more likely to go forward.”

Read more
Report: Judge to rule in favor of Sprint/T-Mobile merger
t mobile revvl news

It looks like the Sprint-T-Mobile merger is about to clear the last of any potential legal hurdles. According to a new report from the New York Times, the judge presiding over the case between the two companies and a coalition of state's attorneys is expected to rule in favor of Sprint and T-Mobile.

The suit was first filed in June by a group of attorney generals from 13 states and the District of Columbia. It first arose after federal regulators, including the Department of Justice, gave the deal the go-ahead. Once the deal goes through, the third and fourth-largest carriers will combine to form the "New T-Mobile." The new company will reportedly have more than 100 million customers.

Read more
The judge in the T-Mobile merger trial isn’t interested in a drawn-out affair
t mobile sprint merger ceo

The trial that ultimately decides whether T-Mobile and Sprint can merge began in a Manhattan federal court Monday, and it's clear that the presiding judge isn't interested in a lengthy affair. U.S. District Judge Victor Marrero asked both sides to skip opening arguments to begin questioning witnesses immediately, and trim their witness lists.

Marrero, who has also presided over high-profile cases including the legality of the Patriot Act and Trump's tax returns, said he didn't want to be "beaten over the head" with testimony, according to the Wall Street Journal.

Read more