Skip to main content

Vote for your favorite NCAA coach in the ‘Infiniti Coaches’ Charity Challenge’

Infiniti presents: The Race For Charity - Part 1
For the sixth consecutive year, auto manufacturer Infiniti will be sponsoring its “Infiniti Coaches’ Charity Challenge.” The program consists of a partnership between Infiniti, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), the NCAA, and ESPN. It has grown to include 48 NCAA Division I men’s basketball coaches, who compete to raise money for charities of their own choosing.

Over a 10-week period, fans vote for their favorite coaches in a four-round contest, with the winner receiving $100,000 to be used for charity. Along the way, NCAA corporate sponsor Infiniti will make donations that will total over $345,000. And while there can be only one big winner, Infiniti has guaranteed each coach a donation of at least $1,000 to his chosen charity.

Fans can vote in a custom online ESPN microsite. Voters can cast one vote per day.

”The significant contributions made by men’s college basketball coaches in their own communities and across America are amplified by the Infiniti Coaches’ Charity Challenge,” said NABC Executive Director Jim Haney. ”In the past five years through the Challenge, college basketball fans across the country have joined with these outstanding coaches to raise funds and awareness for a great number of charitable organizations.”

This year’s participating 48 coaches include University of Arizona coach Sean Miller, competing for the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Southern Arizona, Auburn University coach Bruce Pearl, competing for the Children’s Harbor, Inc., and Clemson University coach Brad Brownell, competing for the Outdoor Dream Foundation. Tad Boyle of the University of Colorado is competing for Special Olympics Colorado, while Duke University coach Mike Krzyzewski is going for the Emily Krzyzewski Center. Both Notre Dame coach Mike Brey and Baylor’s Scott Drew are competing for Coaches vs. Cancer.

The first round of voting began on January 4 and will run through January 24, so you still have plenty of time to cast your vote! Half of the coaches will advance from the first to second round, which will be held from January 25 through February 14. On February 15, 16 advancing coaches will enter the third round, and then just four will make it to the fourth and final round. From February 29 to March 13, fans can vote for the finalists, with the winning coach and charity announcement taking place on March 13, 2016.

Editors' Recommendations