Skip to main content

Blizzard announces World of Warcraft: Shadowlands expansion at BlizzCon 2019

World of Warcraft Shadowlands announcement logo
Image used with permission by copyright holder

The leaks were right: Blizzard announced World of Warcraft: Shadowlands, the latest expansion for the hit MMORPG at Blizzcon 2019 on Friday.

Shadowlands will be released sometime next year, and will be the eighth expansion for World of Warcraft, continuing a trend of two-year expansion cycles set by Blizzard back in the Wrath of the Lich King days.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands will follow on from every other major WoW expansion to come before it. Instead of a level cap increase, things are actually decreasing back to the original Level 60 cap. Blizzard is promising to tune the leveling experience so that a full 1-50 run can be done through any chosen expansion, giving players the freedom to make a new character, play through an expansion of their choice, and then jump straight into the Shadowlands zones for the last 10 levels.

Currently announced Shadowlands locations include Revendreth, Ardenweald, Maldraxxus, and Bastion, which you might recognize from the recent leaks. The new leveling experience is tailored to offer something new (like a skill or trait) with every level, while the new Covenant feature will dish out two abilities across the new content; one exclusive to the chosen Covenant, and one exclusive to each character class.

Covenants are similar to class halls from the past. Players are free to align themselves with one of four new Covenants, each with their own NPC species and motives for players to side with. For those focused on battle content, Torghast, the Tower of the Damned, is introduced as a “highly replayable ever-changing dungeon”.

World of Warcraft Shadowlands new areas
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Lore-wise, Shadowlands specifically carries on from Battle of Azeroth. In the game’s opening cinematic, Sylvanas reemerges in Icecrown, defeating the Lich King in a duel and breaking his iconic helmet in two, tearing open a gateway to the titular Shadowlands, the curtain between life and death. During the announcement, World of Warcraft Director Ion Hazzikostas described the Shadowlands as the veil every character treads along to retrieve their body after taking on too many mobs – a scenario every World of Warcraft player is no-doubt deeply familiar with. But it’s also the place the valkyrie hail, and where Death Knights draw their power. It’s Azeroth’s answer to the afterlife, making it a place that predates the world forged by the titans at the start of it all.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands pre-order bonuses

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands is currently up for pre-order on the store, with three editions to choose from; Base, Heroic, and Epic. The stated release date of “on or before December 31, 2020” means most can hold off pre-purchasing the game for a while yet, but those who do will gain access to a few instant rewards like;

  • Base Edition: Early access to Death Knights on Allied Race and Pandaren characters (starting with the Visions of N’Zoth update)
  • Heroic Edition: Base edition bonuses plus Level 120 character boost, Ensorcelled Everwyrm mount, and access to Eternal Traveler transmog set (through a quest)
  • Epic Edition: Everything from the Heroic Edition plus 30-days game time, Anima Wymrling pet, Eternal Traveler’s Heartstone effect, and Illusion: Wraithchill weapon effect

This is a breaking news story and will be updated.

Editors' Recommendations

Josh Brown
Josh Brown is a UK-based freelancer with devoted interests in video games, tech, film, and anime/manga. Just don't talk to…
Oxenfree 2 and more new games announced at Nintendo Indie World Showcase
A lighthouse sits on a cliff in Oxenfree 2: Lost Signals.

Nintendo today held another Indie World Showcase featuring announcements from developers around the world. The stream included the surprise reveal of Oxenfree II, along with other announcements, including a release date for Cris Tales, a release window and Switch reveal for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge, and more.

The biggest announcement of the showcase was Oxenfree II: Lost Signals, a sequel set five years after the events of the original 2016 indie hit. In this next installment, Riley returns to her hometown to investigate mysterious radio signals. It doesn't have an exact release date, but is planned to launch sometime in 2021.

Read more
World of Warcraft Classic: How to race to level 60 fast
Characters fly on mounts in World of Warcraft Classic.

Playing World of Warcraft Classic can get frustrating if you don't know how to level up to 60. Many twists, turns, and blocks prevent you from getting to the next level because you either lose money or you lose a life. To make your game go a bit easier and get farther along, this guide will help you level up to 60 in no time.

There are two main ways to level quick in WoW Classic: Questing and dungeons. Questing is generally the more fruitful of the two, so that's where we'll start. However, you can also level quickly by farming dungeons with the right loadout.

Read more
World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth allied races guide

World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth introduced the Allied races into the wildly popular MMORPG. Ten new races were made available for players to explore; five for the Horde and five for the Alliance. No matter where your allegiance lies, these new races are sure to spawn new builds and strategies. Each Allied race also comes with a special set of Transmog armor, new to World of Warcraft, that is interchangeable between classes. Below, we've broken down all 10 Allied races with a little bit of backstory for each, their unlock requirements, and available classes.
See more

How to gear up for your first WoW Classic raid
World of Warcraft Classic: How to race to level 60 fast
World of Warcraft Shadowlands review: Even in death, WoW can't find itself

Read more