Skip to main content

How to undo reposts on TikTok (and why you should)

tiktok how to un repost undo video
Joe Maring/Digital Trends

TikTok, like many other social media apps, including Threads, allows its users to repost the content they enjoy to share it with their followers. However, unlike apps such as X, formerly Twitter, which provide clear instructions on how to undo a repost and indicate when it has been successfully undone, TikTok’s process is not as straightforward.

Difficulty

Easy

Duration

5 minutes

What You Need

  • A smartphone with the TikTok app installed

  • A TikTok account

Luckily, undoing a repost on TikTok is easy if you know where to look. Follow the steps below to clear up you and your followers’ feeds in no time.

Undo Repost button on the TIkTok app.
Joe Maring/Digital Trends

How to undo a repost on TikTok

Reposting content on TikTok can be a powerful tool to share important information with your followers. However, there may be times when you regret reposting something. You might have unintentionally shared something or don’t want to clutter your followers’ feeds with videos from creators they don’t follow. You might also change your mind about wanting to support something featured in the video. The good news is that you have complete control over your content on TikTok, and you can easily undo a repost. Here’s how to do it.

Step 1: Open the TikTok app and find the video you reposted.

Step 2: Select the arrow icon that points to the left in the bottom left corner. This is the same icon you selected to repost the video in the first place.

Step 3: After the pop-up menu appears in the lower half of the screen, select Remove repost from the top right corner of the menu next to the other accounts that TikTok is suggesting you send the post to.

Step 4: Confirm that the post has been un reposted with the temporary pop-up text at the top of the screen that reads Your repost has been removed.

Congratulations! You have successfully unreposted a TikTok video. The good news is that there is no limit to the number of times you can use this feature. So, feel free to undo any unwanted reposts whenever you want.

Peter Hunt Szpytek
A podcast host and journalist, Peter covers mobile news with Digital Trends and gaming news, reviews, and guides for sites…
How to find your phone number on iPhone or Android
Someone holding up an iPhone 14 to their ear.

Let's face it: Most of us don't call our own phones very often. If you're like most people, this means you probably don't know your own phone number off-hand, especially if you rarely give it out to people or haven't had it for long, such as after setting up a new account or changing your number after moving to a new town.

To make things even more complicated, many modern smartphones let you set up more than one line using an eSIM, which gives you more than one number to remember.

Read more
How to turn off Activity Status on Instagram
Instagram on an iPhone.

Instagram is a popular social networking site that allows users to communicate through text, photos, and videos. One of its features is the app's Activity Status, which lets users know when someone was last active on the app or if they are currently online.

Read more
How to turn off call forwarding on iPhone and Android
A person holding the Apple iPhone 15 Plus, showing the camera.

If you’re mysteriously missing calls on your iPhone or Android smartphone, it may be because call forwarding is activated on your line. In that case, all your incoming calls could be going somewhere else.

Call forwarding shouldn’t typically be active unless you’ve specifically turned it on, but another person or app may have done so without your knowledge. And since call forwarding is a carrier feature, it could still be enabled on a line you inherited from someone else, even if you’ve swapped their SIM card into your phone or transferred it to a new account.

Read more