Watch the first TV spot for Star Wars: The Force Awakens

star wars the force awakens tv ad teaser  4
The last few weeks have been very, very good to Star Wars fans craving an early peek at the upcoming Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens (and very, very bad for anyone attempting to stay blissfully ignorant of the movie’s content), with a new trailer released back in October, then a new international trailer, and now a new television spot for the film — all packed with fresh footage.

And much like that aforementioned international trailer released last week, the new TV ad keeps the focus on Daisy Ridley’s character in the film, Rey.

Disney and Lucasfilm released the commercial for The Force Awakens via Twitter, and the brief (31 seconds) teaser for the much-anticipated sequel manages to pack a lot of action into its short running time — mostly involving Ridley’s Rey.

Along with Ridley’s character, the commercial also gives some screen time to Harrison Ford’s iconic smuggler Han Solo and newcomer John Boyega’s character, Finn, and teases some intense air and space battles involving the Millennium Falcon and various other ships.

The force is calling to you… 

Check out the first official TV spot for #StarWars #TheForceAwakens.

— Twitter (@twitter) November 8, 2015

Set 30 years after the events of Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi, The Force Awakens introduces a new set of heroes and villains to the Star Wars universe, while also bringing back a long list of fan-favorite characters from the previous films. The film stars returning cast members Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker, as well as newcomers John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Max von Sydow, Lupita Nyong’o, Gwendoline Christie, Crystal Clarke, Pip Anderson, Christina Chong, and Miltos Yerolemou.

The Force Awakens is directed by J.J. Abrams from a screenplay penned by Abrams, Lawrence Kasdan, and Michael Arndt.

Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens hits theaters December 18, 2015. It will be followed on December 16, 2016, by Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, then Star Wars: Episode VIII on May 26, 2017, and the Han Solo anthology movie on May 25, 2018.

Editors' Recommendations