Cadillac chooses the name CT6 for its new luxury flagship

Cadillac Elmiraj concept
Cadillac is getting serious about reclaiming its “Standard of the World” title with a new flagship luxury sedan, but every flagship needs a compelling name.

It was originally thought that Cadillac was reserving the LTS name for its new top model, but the carmaker just announced that it will be called CT6.

The name, Cadillac explained in a statement, derives from the CTS. Now in its third generation, the CTS is Cadillac’s most successful modern car, garnering praise from the automotive press and setting the tone for the rest of the lineup.

This nomenclature is also part of a new hierarchical naming system Cadillac plans to start using. Under the scheme, all car models will get a “CT” prefix, while the following number will indicate their place in family.

Related: Cadillac moves its headquarters to New York City

With the CT6 presumably at the top, does that mean the next CTS will be the CT5?

That could be construed as a shot across the BMW 5 Series bow, and it will help customers who may not know the difference between a CTS, ATS, or XTS, but whatever happened to actual names?

While names like Fleetwood or Sedan de Ville don’t have as much cache as they used to, at least there’s no chance of someone mistaking either of them for a Lexus hybrid.

The CT6’s name may not be that exciting, but at least the car itself will be. A proper full-size, rear-wheel drive sedan, it will compete against luxury-car standards like the Mercedes-Benz S-Class and Audi A8.

Cadillac says the CT6 will be the “lightest and most agile” car in its class, and it’s also expected to borrow styling cues from recent concept cars like the stunning Elmiraj.

The CT6 will be built in Detroit at the same Detroit-Hamtramck plant that builds the Chevrolet Volt. It will debut next April at the 2015 New York Auto Show, with production slated to follow in the fourth quarter of 2015.

Product Review

The 2019 Porsche Macan S is a luxurious and quick SUV, but it's no road tripper

The roster of models challenging the Porsche Macan grows annually. The German firm updated its smallest, most affordable SUV with a new engine, more tech features, and subtle design tweaks to keep it looking fresh.

Check out the best Xbox One deals and bundles for December 2018

Microsoft's consoles are just as capable of streaming movies as they are of playing the latest games. Check out our top Xbox One deals and bundles, which include new and upcoming triple-A games like Battlefield V and Fallout 76.

Gateway’s born-again Ford Bronco boasts classic style, 2018 muscle car power

Illinois-based Gateway Bronco has received a license from Ford to make brand-new examples of the first-generation Bronco. Every build starts with a Ford VIN and a donor vehicle, but Gateway upgrades every part of the car.
Movies & TV

The best shows on Netflix, from 'Haunting of Hill House’ to ‘Twilight Zone’

Looking for a new show to binge? Lucky for you, we've curated a list of the best shows on Netflix, whether you're a fan of outlandish anime, dramatic period pieces, or shows that leave you questioning what lies beyond.

Bloodhound’s plan to build a 1,000-mph car has run out of gas

The Bloodhound supersonic car (SSC) project has officially shut down. The upside is you can now buy a 135,000-horsepower car powered by a jet engine and a cluster of rockets for $319,000.

2019 Ford Ranger saves fuel without sacrificing towing capacity

The 2019 Ford Ranger marks Ford's long-awaited return to the midsize truck segment, which has seen a resurgence lately. But will being late to the party make Ford's job more difficult?

Pininfarina Battista is a 1,900-horsepower, 250-mph electric supercar

The Pininfarina Battista will be the first production car from famed Italian design firm Pininfarina. Named after company founder Battista Pininfarina, it has a claimed 1,900 horsepower and a $2.5 million price tag.

Tesla could show the electric pickup Elon Musk is dying to build in 2019

Tesla has started designing its long-promised pickup truck. The yet-unnamed model will come with dual-motor all-wheel drive and lots of torque, plus it will be able to park itself.
Cars is helping Hyundai mine the artificial intelligence gold rush

In November 2018, Hyundai invested in a startup named We talked to the company's founder to learn more about what that means for consumers in the not-too-distant futures.
Emerging Tech

With this robotic garage, retrieving your car is like using a vending machine

Remembering where we parked our cars can be a real pain. But what if our cars came to find us, rather than the other way around? A new automated robot parking valet system aims to help.

Thinking of opting for a car with a diesel engine? Here's what you need to know

Modern diesel-powered models prove that it is possible to build a clean, efficient diesel engine without sacrificing performance. Here's what you need to know about diesel cars, and how they differ from gasoline-powered models.

Best Products of 2018

Our reception desk has so many brown boxes stacked up, it looks like a loading dock. We’re on a first-name basis with the UPS guy. We get new dishwashers more frequently than most people get new shoes. What we’re trying to say is: We…

These winter-warrior cars will never leave you out in the cold

Snow can be an absolute pain if your vehicle isn't optimized to handle that sort of terrain. If brutal snowstorms are an annual part of your life, we recommend you pick up one of these winter-ready vehicles.

2020 Toyota Supra caught hiding in a trailer without a shred of camouflage

Toyota's plan to once again lure enthusiasts into showrooms involves bringing back the Supra, one of its most emblematic nameplates. Here's what we know so far about the upcoming coupe, which Toyota is developing jointly with BMW.