Mortal Kombat 11 to add Shang Tsung, in likeness of 1995 movie actor, as DLC

Mortal Kombat series co-creator Ed Boon revealed at the Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo that Shang Tsung will be the first character that will be added to Mortal Kombat 11 as downloadable content.

Shang Tsung, the final boss of the original Mortal Kombat, will be added to Mortal Kombat 11 in the likeness and with the voice of Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa, who played the character in the 1995 movie based on the fighting game franchise. Tagawa portrayed a younger version of Shang Tsung in the Mortal Kombat movie, and later reprised his role in the live-action web series Mortal Kombat Legacy.

Tagawa will be appearing in an actual entry in the Mortal Kombat game series for the first time. In addition to being the first DLC character for Mortal Kombat 11, he will also serve as the host and guide for The Krypt, the campaign mode that was first introduced in Mortal Kombat X where players may spend the coins that they have earned in matches on different kinds of bonuses.

In addition to Shang Tsung, Boon and NetherRealm Studios revealed another character in the main roster of Mortal Kombat 11.

Noob Saibot, the ghost-like “brother” of Sub-Zero who first appeared in Mortal Kombat 2. He will be a part of the playable roster once Mortal Kombat 11 is released on April 23, ready to unleash his moves that include teleportation attacks and the ability to summon a shadow of himself.

Mortal Kombat 11 will feature a collection of returning characters, including Raiden, Scorpion, Sonya Blade, and the other main villain of the series, Shao Kahn, who is a pre-order bonus. The game will also introduce new fighters, including the mysterious Kronika and her minion, Geras.

NetherRealms will hold a Mortal Kombat 11 closed beta, which will run in North America from March 27 to April 1. Fans of the brutal fighting series who want to catch an early glimpse of its latest entry may gain access to the closed beta by pre-ordering the game for the PlayStation 4 or Xbox One.

The closed beta will offer access to multiplayer matches, the single player mode Towers of Time, the Custom Character Variation System, and a roster of five characters made up of Baraka, Jade, Kabal, Scarlet, and Scorpion.

Product Review

Gloriously gory and fantastically fluid: Mortal Kombat 11 is the best one yet

Mortal Kombatt 11 reinforces NetherRealm Studios’ status as the greatest western fighting developer on the planet, building on what made Mortal Kombat X so great while adding in a few new tricks.

From the most 'Toasty!' to the least, here are the Mortal Kombat games ranked

The Mortal Kombat franchise has provided shocking delights and spilled copious pints of blood since 1992. With Mortal Kombat 11 out now for PS4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC, we decided to rank the mainline fighting series from best to worst.

From fatalities to new characters, here's what we know about Mortal Kombat 11

Mortal Kombat 11 releases April 23 for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PC. Here is everything we know about NetherRealm's latest fighting game, including its characters.

Mortal Kombat 11 DLC characters reportedly leaked: Who’s next after Shang Tsung?

A datamine on Mortal Kombat 11 reportedly revealed all the DLC characters that will be added to the game's expansive roster. The leak corroborates the hint that the anti-hero Spawn is on his way to joining the fighting game.

15 Nintendo Switch games you should play in handheld mode

The Nintendo Switch's handheld mode is more than a convenient way to play games -- it's also the preferable way for some titles. Here are 15 Nintendo Switch games you should play in handheld mode.

These are all the games we want to see from Square Enix at E3 2019

Square Enix will once again hold its own press conference for E3 2019. These are the games we want the company to show during the event, including the long-awaited Final Fantasy VII Remake.
Product Review

Something's rotten in Days Gone, and it's not the zombies

Days Gone’s predictable story is littered with repetitive missions, shoddy stealth and gunplay, and needless survival mechanics. It’s riddled with performance issues, like janky animations and consistent framerate drops.

Days Gone will receive free post-launch DLC starting in June

Days Gone launches this week and the developers are already setting the stage for post-launch content. Starting in June with the Survivor mode, Bend Studio will begin releasing weekly free updates that include various challenges.

These gaming monitors will transport you to another dimension

What are the best gaming monitors you can buy right now? We select five that are all priced under $900 packing premium technologies like G-SYNC and FreeSync, high resolutions, and fast refresh rates.

Jump on your hog and use our guide to fast traveling in Days Gone

Days Gone has a large open world set in the Pacific Northwest, with the main means of travel being Deacon's motorcycle. Fast travel exists, but it's not as simple as it is in some other open world games. Here's what you need to know.

Tips and tricks for beginners entering the postapocalypse in Days Gone

Days Gone has finally arrived on PS4 after multiple days. After more than 35 hours spent in the post-apocalyptic vision of the Pacific Northwest, we've learned a lot. Here are ten tips and tricks to help you get started.

How to raise your trust and earn a good reputation with camps in Days Gone

Days Gone stars a drifter named Deacon St. John in the post-apocalypse. Since he's somewhat of a lone wolf, the people he comes across are leery of him. That's where the Trust system comes into play. Here's what you need to know about it.

Corsair’s Ironclaw, Glaive gaming mice are tuned for performance and comfort

Corsair is adding wireless capabilities to its Ironclaw gaming mouse this year, while the Glaive RGB Pro has been updated for maximum comfort with thoughtful ergonomics. Both mice feature accurate tracking and durable buttons.

These awesome free-to-play games might be even better than the ones you paid for

Believe it or not, free-to-play games have evolved into engaging, enjoyable experiences. Here are a few of our favorites that you can play right now, including Warframe and the perennially popular League of Legends.