Skip to main content

No longer a PS4 exclusive, ‘Ni no Kuni 2: Revenant Kingdom’ is coming to PC

Ni no Kuni II: REVENANT KINGDOM - PlayStation Experience 2016 Trailer | PS4

Ni no Kuni 2: Revenant Kingdom is coming to PC, according to a wide-ranging GameSpot interview with Level-5 CEO Akihiro Hino. Previously, the game was only known to be in development for PlayStation 4.

The much-anticipated follow-up still does not have a firm release date, but Hino confirmed that Ni no Kuni 2: Revenant Kingdom is coming to both platforms this year. Unlike Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch, it will see simultaneous worldwide release. This is noteworthy, considering the timeline of the original’s translation.

Upon localizing Wrath of the White Witch in early 2013, Level-5 was surprised by its warm reception in the west. The franchise had already been successful in Japan, dating back to the 2010 release of Ni no Kuni: Dominion of the Dark Djinn for Nintendo DS. That game was enhanced into Wrath of the White Witch in Japan for PlayStation 3 in late 2011, but the English translation proved to be a challenge.

From the interview, it appears that the simultaneous worldwide and multi-platform release has influenced its design. “As a fan of Western RPGs, I think our games need to be offering a similarly great experience, utilizing things like an open world and a stress-free battle system. It should feel familiar for all gamers,” Hino said.

The original also featured a highly praised collaboration between Level-5 and Studio Ghibli, but that will not be the case for Revenant Kingdom, at least not in an official capacity. Level-5 has retained the Ghibli style, so visually and musically, the game will be familiar to series veterans. Revenant Kingdom features a new cast of characters but looks to keep the same melancholy humor and charm that made the first game such a poignant experience for many players.

Editors' Recommendations

Steven Petite
Former Digital Trends Contributor
Steven is a writer from Northeast Ohio currently based in Louisiana. He writes about video games and books, and consumes…
Grab your mask: Dishonored 2 is coming to PS4, Xbox One, and PC
dishonored 2 reveal

Confirming fervent fan speculation, Arkane Studios took to the stage at Bethesda's first ever E3 press conference in order to reveal Dishonored 2. The Empire of the Isles is in trouble once more. An "otherworldly usurper" has seized the throne, and its up to you to depose it.

Corvo Attano, the protagonist from the first game, returns, but is also joined by another playable character, Emily Caldwen, who is featured in the reveal trailer. Emily and Corvo each have their own unique sets of weapons and paranormal abilities with which you can experiment. In the trailer we see Emily shooting out tendrils like Spider-Man to pull herself from building top to building top, and later she transforms into some sort of smoke monster in her relentless pursuit.

Read more
How to get Murmuring Obols in Diablo 4
Still from Diablo 4 cinematic.

Loot and gear are the most important things in Diablo 4. One item you'll want to get your hands on is the Murmuring Obols, which will, in turn, lead to some potentially high-value loot. But what exactly is this a Murmuring Obol and where can you farm them? Here's what you need to know about the Murmuring Obols in Diablo 4.
What Murmuring Obols are for

Murmuring Obols is a form of currency that can be spent at the Purveyor of Curiosities shops. These are denoted on the map with a sack of coins icon and can be found in main hubs such as Desolate Highlands.

Read more
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is so big that it’s coming out on two discs
Cloud and his friends overlook a scenic field.

The grand finale of Summer Game Fest 2023 went out on a high note with brand-new footage of Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth, which is now slated for an early 2024 release date. The game is so big that it'll release on two discs.

Final Fantasy 7: Rebirth is the second of three planned games in the Final Fantasy 7 remake trilogy, starting with 2020's Final Fantasy 7 Remake. That game only covered the initial Midgar section of the game, though it expanded upon and added new content and features to flesh it out. With the conclusion of that title, as well as the Episode: Intermission DLC, we've only had a small glimpse as to how Rebirth will handle the game once going to the open world.

Read more