Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Social Media
  3. Legacy Archives

Turns out ‘delete’ doesn’t quite mean the same thing to Facebook as it does to you

Add as a preferred source on Google
facebook
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Sometimes we want to delete our Facebook history – maybe just pieces of it, or maybe everything. Perhaps you just want to start fresh, or you’re simply distrusting of Facebook with your information and want to get rid of old posts.

You’d hope that by clicking delete, your content is permanently removed. Apparently, that’s not quite the case. New evidence suggests that Facebook might not really be deleting the posts you think you’re getting rid of. In fact, sometimes these deleted Facebook posts are reappearing. 

empty Facebook Timeline
Image used with permission by copyright holder

A few users have discovered just how persistent Facebook has been. Laura (who withheld her last name) deleted her Facebook posts “one-by-one” in February 2012, fearful of the repercussions that Facebook’s new Timeline (at the time) might bring. In October of that year, she logged into Facebook to discover that all of her Timeline content had been restored.

Laura's Facebook Timeline
Image used with permission by copyright holder

It’s not unreasonable to assume that this issue was a bug, but after the second time around when Laura had once again painstakingly deleted all her content, she grew more suspicious. “I deleted all my posts, likes and comments. I also deleted all my photos and albums except two profile photos,” Laura explains, telling us that her profile was clean with the exception of two photographs and a few basic personal details from the About section. Returning to her Facebook account months later, she discovered this month that her deleted posts popped up once again.

Recommended Videos

Scarier yet is the fact that this isn’t an isolate incident. There are other Facebook users who have encountered the very same scenario, with their deleted posts coming back to them. Also, there was an incident in which old posts were resurrected to the top of your profile as well. A lawsuit was filed against Facebook in Ireland in 2011 for this exact issue: 

“About half a year to a year ago I decided that I wanted to delete as much of my personal data as possible on my facebook page. I used an automatic routine that automatically clicked on all “X”-buttons (labeled “remove post”) on my Facebook page. The following prompt clearly states that the content gets “deleted” (see attachment 03). After the routine was running for a while, all content was gone. From this point on I was continuously deleting all new content manually. In two or three cases old content kept coming back to my wall after I deleted it weeks earlier.”

Facebook’s Terms and Conditions shed some light on why its users are experiencing restored content:

“When you delete IP content, it is deleted in a manner similar to emptying the recycle bin on a computer,” the Terms and Conditions page states. “However, you understand that removed content may persist in backup copies for a reasonable period of time (but will not be available to others).”

Even Facebook admits that your content is actually still there even if you’ve technically deleted it. However the content popping up for a second time for a third round of deleting is unexpected.

We reached out to Facebook about the issue, whose representative only pointed out Facebook’s Terms and Conditions page, and highlighted the fact that that when you actually delete content on Facebook, it only goes away if it’s permanently deleted – which is tricky. The problem with permanently deleting anything on Facebook is the fact that nothing is actually seemingly deleted. Just simply “deleting” content stores the content to a backup Facebook drive temporarily. As Facebook puts it: 

“Some of this information is permanently deleted from our servers; however, some things can only be deleted when you permanently delete your account.”

Deleting your entire account works in a similar manner. Users can “delete” their accounts; however accessing the account again reactivates the account.

They also made sure to point out that the issue may stem from a bug on Laura’s profile page, but couldn’t be sure without checking out her account. Facebook engineers however are on the case, and on a preliminary look suggested that a better way to delete content is not by going through the Timeline, but instead through your Activity Log.

None of this, however, makes it clear why Laura’s content is reappearing.

As hard as you try, it appears that you can never actually “get rid” of Facebook short of never having used it in the first place.

[UPDATE]

Per her comments below, Laura, clarified that not all her deleted posts were restored – though a great deal were. She also adds that when deleted posts and comments she did so through her News Feed, and that she missed some she thought she had deleted originally. 

Francis Bea
Former Digital Trends Contributor
Francis got his first taste of the tech industry in a failed attempt at a startup during his time as a student at the…
I picked 6 Amazon Prime Day deals to make your home office more comfortable
Give your workspace a much-needed upgrade without paying full price.
best-ergonomic-chair-standing-desk-prime-day-deal-2026

Prime Day is a good excuse to finally upgrade the home office setup where you spend most of the day working. I’ve rounded up six ergonomic office chairs and standing desks that can make your workspace more comfortable, flexible, and productive. Whether you need better support or more room to move, these deals cover different budgets.

Flexispot ErgoX Ergonomic Office Chair - $250 (29% off)

Read more
Instagram may soon let you lurk on profiles without leaving a trace
Instagram may finally solve your biggest fear of accidentally liking an old post.
Instagram on an iPhone.

Have you ever scrolled through someone's profile and accidentally liked a photo from four years ago? Instagram may be working on a way to stop that.

Leaker and reverse engineer Alessandro Paluzzi posted on X on Oct. 3 about a read-only mode the app appears to be developing. The feature would essentially turn profile browsing into spectator mode, removing several ways to interact with an account.

Read more
X is apparently cooking up a cheaper verified badge, more Grok AI subscriptions are also on the table
X’s next subscription shake-up could put Grok in nearly every tier
Social Media

X (formerly Twitter) could be planning another overhaul, and this time, Grok might be moving to more subscription tiers. SpaceXAI is considering combining X and Grok into a new four-tier subscription structure, according to an internal document viewed by Bloomberg.

The proposed lineup would stretch from a free option with tighter Grok usage limits all the way to a $100-per-month Ultra plan aimed at power users. A new $8-per-month Lite plan is in the works, which could include access to Grok, a blue verified checkmark, and fewer ads on X.

Read more