Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Social Media
  3. Computing
  4. Evergreens

What does a check mark mean on Facebook Messenger?

Add as a preferred source on Google

If you’ve ever sent a message to a friend on Facebook Messenger, you’ve probably noticed a little check mark icon next to the message you sent.

They’re nothing to worry about, but these check mark icons do offer up a little information on the status of the Messenger messages you send. Want to know what each of these check mark icons means? Keep reading to find out.

Recommended Videos

What does a check mark mean on Messenger?

A check mark icon on a message in the Messenger mobile app.
screenshot

Those check mark icons that you see after you’ve sent a message on Messenger aren’t just random symbols. They are icons that are part of a larger series of message indicators that Messenger uses to tell you what the current status of your sent message is. These statuses could be one of the following:

  • Your message is still sending.
  • Your message has successfully sent.
  • The message has been successfully delivered to your intended recipient.
  • The message has been viewed by your intended recipient.

But not all of these statuses are denoted by check mark icons in Facebook Messenger. Only two of them are. In the next section, we’ll go over all of the icons used to indicate the above statuses, including the check mark icons.

What does each Messenger message status icon mean?

Note: The colors of each icon listed below may vary beyond blue and white. You may also see purple and white. Or even gray and white. We mentioned the color blue below because that is what’s currently listed on Facebook’s own Help Center guide on the matter.

If you see an empty blue circle …

Your message is still processing. It’s still sending. This means Messenger hasn’t received your message yet.

If you see a blue circle with a white middle and a blue check mark …

The message is officially considered “sent” but not delivered. And there is a difference between the two. For Messenger, “sent” just means Messenger has gotten your message and will deliver it to your friend. And “delivered” means that your friend has received the message, but hasn’t viewed it yet.

If you see a blue circle with a blue middle and white check mark …

This is the icon that means your message has been successfully delivered to your friend. Your message is now sitting in your friend’s Messenger inbox waiting to be read.

If you see your friend’s tiny profile picture …

Then that means your friend has viewed your message. Congrats! Your Facebook Messenger message was sent, delivered, and viewed successfully!

Need more help with Facebook Messenger? Check out our other guides: How to use Facebook Messenger without a Facebook account and How to delete messages in Facebook Messenger.

Anita George
Anita George has been writing for Digital Trends' Computing section since 2018. So for almost six years, Anita has written…
I picked 6 Amazon Prime Day deals to make your home office more comfortable
Give your workspace a much-needed upgrade without paying full price.
best-ergonomic-chair-standing-desk-prime-day-deal-2026

Prime Day is a good excuse to finally upgrade the home office setup where you spend most of the day working. I’ve rounded up six ergonomic office chairs and standing desks that can make your workspace more comfortable, flexible, and productive. Whether you need better support or more room to move, these deals cover different budgets.

Flexispot ErgoX Ergonomic Office Chair - $250 (29% off)

Read more
Instagram may soon let you lurk on profiles without leaving a trace
Instagram may finally solve your biggest fear of accidentally liking an old post.
Instagram on an iPhone.

Have you ever scrolled through someone's profile and accidentally liked a photo from four years ago? Instagram may be working on a way to stop that.

Leaker and reverse engineer Alessandro Paluzzi posted on X on Oct. 3 about a read-only mode the app appears to be developing. The feature would essentially turn profile browsing into spectator mode, removing several ways to interact with an account.

Read more
X is apparently cooking up a cheaper verified badge, more Grok AI subscriptions are also on the table
X’s next subscription shake-up could put Grok in nearly every tier
Social Media

X (formerly Twitter) could be planning another overhaul, and this time, Grok might be moving to more subscription tiers. SpaceXAI is considering combining X and Grok into a new four-tier subscription structure, according to an internal document viewed by Bloomberg.

The proposed lineup would stretch from a free option with tighter Grok usage limits all the way to a $100-per-month Ultra plan aimed at power users. A new $8-per-month Lite plan is in the works, which could include access to Grok, a blue verified checkmark, and fewer ads on X.

Read more