Windows Vista: Maybe Eight is Enough?

Microsoft Corporation has unveiled it plans to create six core versions of its forthcoming Windows Vista operating system, plus two derivative editions specifically customized for the European Union.

The primary version of Windows Vista will reportedly be:

  • Windows Starter 2007: Presumably akin to Microsoft Windows XP Starter Edition, a feature-limited version of Windows aimed at developing nations and emerging markets. It may limit the number of applications which can be run simultaneously, and may lack the touted “Aero” user interface.
  • Windows Vista Home Basic: Similar to Windows XP Home Edition without advanced media support.
  • Windows Vista Home Premium: Likely to be the most common “consumer” version of Windows, it will offer some advanced Media Center capabilities such as HDTV and DVD authoring support.
  • Windows Vista Business: Comparable to Windows XP Professional, with support for Windows Server Domains and Microsoft’s IIS server.
  • Windows Vista Enterprise: Available only to Software Assurance customers, the Enterprise edition will ship with Virtual PC virtualization technologies, and a multilingual user interface.
  • Windows Vista Ultimate: A high-end edition aimed at PC enthusiasts, “Ultimate” contains elements of both the Home and Business editions, plus podcasting (“blogcasting,” in Microsoft-speak), enhanced game performance, and DVD-ripping features.

In addition, Microsoft will ship Windows Vista Home Basic N and Windows Vista Business N for the European Union market; these editions will lack Windows Media Player, to comply with EU antitrust rulings.

Missing from the Vista lineup are separate Media Center and Tablet PC editions, as well as a previously-discussed Small Business Edition. Reportedly, every edition save Windows Starter 2007 will support 64-bit processors.

Eight editions of Windows Vista might seem like a lot, but consider that Microsoft currently offers at least six editions of Windows XP (Home, Professional, Media Center, Tablet PC, Professional x64, and “N” editions for the European Union.


Keep your MacBook safe and dry with an Under Armour backpack for under $50

Under Armour is having a huge sale this weekend to help you on your quest for a better backpack. The UA Outlet Exclusive sale is going on now through Monday, February 18th, offering great discounts on stormproof backpacks.

Lose the key for your favorite software? These handy tools can find it for you

Missing product keys getting you down? We've chosen some of the best software license and product key finders in existence, so you can locate and document your precious keys on your Windows or MacOS machine.
Home Theater

From the Roku Ultra to the Fire TV Cube, these are the best streaming devices

There are more options for media streamers than ever, so it’s more difficult to pick the best option. But that’s why we're here. Our curated list of the best streaming devices will get you online in no time.

Tired of paying a monthly fee for Word? The best Microsoft Office alternatives

Looking for a competent word processor that isn't Microsoft Word? Thankfully, the best alternatives to Microsoft Office offer robust features, expansive compatibility, and an all-too-familiar aesthetic. Here are our favorites.

Windows 7 is still immensely popular. Is it really better than Windows 10?

With the end of support of Windows 7 approaching, have you been holding off on upgrading to Windows 10? In this guide, we give look at some of the biggest differences between the most popular operating systems.

Walmart Presidents’ Day sale: Instant Pot, Google Home, and 4K TV deals

Presidents' Day weekend is one of the best times of the year to find deep discounts on 4K TVs, laptops, Instant Pots, clothes, mattresses, and furniture. And Walmart is offering deals on all of those things and more.

In the age of Alexa and Siri, Cortana’s halo has grown dim

In a sea of voice assistants, Cortana has become almost irrelevant. The nearly five-year-old voice assistant is seeing little love from consumers, and here’s why it is dead.

The HoloLens 2 will be announced at MWC. Here's what we know about it so far

The HoloLens 2 is ripe for an announcement. Here's what Microsoft has revealed so far, what's likely in store for the next generation HoloLens, and everything that we know about this mixed reality headset.

Don't know what to do with all your old DVDs? Here's how to convert them to MP4

Given today's rapid technological advancements, physical discs are quickly becoming a thing of the past. Check out our guide on how to convert a DVD to MP4, so you can ditch discs for digital files.

Wi-Fi helps connect all of our devices at high-speed, but what exactly is it?

What is Wi-Fi? It's a technology we all use everyday to connect all of our portable devices, but understanding how it works and how far it's come from its humble beginnings is another thing entirely.
Emerging Tech

Awesome Tech You Can’t Buy Yet: Grow veggies indoors and shower more efficiently

Check out our roundup of the best new crowdfunding projects and product announcements that hit the web this week. You may not be able to buy this stuff yet, but it sure is fun to gawk!

Are you one of the billions who have watched these super-popular YouTube videos?

Viral videos can quickly garner millions upon millions of views, but even they fall well behind the view counts on the most watched YouTube videos ever. Those have been watched billions of times.

Windows updates shouldn't cause problems, but if they do, here's how to fix them

Windows update not working? It's a more common problem than you might think. Fortunately, there are a few steps you can take to troubleshoot it and in this guide we'll break them down for you step by step.

Speed up your system by tweaking the startup application in Windows and MacOS

Bothered by programs that automatically start when you boot your computer, or want to add a new one to the list? Here's how to change your startup programs in Windows 7, 8, and 10, along with Apple's MacOS.