Skip to main content

Bungie reveals Destiny 2’s Beyond Light expansion and next-gen plans

Bungie finally shared details on Destiny 2’s mysterious 12th season, which kicks off today. A livestream presentation revealed what’s in store for the newly dubbed Season of Arrivals, as well as next-gen plans and significant changes coming this fall.

The stream began with 8 minutes and 46 seconds of silence to represent the amount of time George Floyd was choked by police. On-screen text showed a list of organizations and urged fans to donate.

After the moment of silence, the half-hour presentation showed off a host of new details and revealed that Destiny 2 will come to the PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X. The next-gen version of the game will run at 60 frames per second and feature 4K resolution, and players who already own expansions like Shadowkeep will not need to rebuy them on new consoles. The game will feature intergenerational crossplay between current and new consoles.

While the livestream gave players their first look at today’s Season of Arrivals, the bulk of the presentation was about Bungie’s longer-term plans for its looter shooter. The studio explained that it was “all-in” on Destiny 2 and outlined what it calls a “new era” for the game.

Much of the livestream revolved around Destiny’s larger, Shadowkeep-like fall update. Destiny: Beyond Light launches on September 22 and will bring major changes to the game. The expansion will introduce the new Europa location, which Bungie says is one of the first locations it envisioned for the franchise.

Destiny 2: Beyond Light – Reveal Trailer

The update will add a new stasis element for players to use. This is the first time in the franchise’s history that it has added a new damage type.

Looking past Beyond Light, Bungie revealed the titles for its next expansions. The Witch Queen will come in 2021, and Lightfall is scheduled for 2022. Each update will introduce new locations.

To cut down on the game’s growing file size, Bungie will cycle old content out of the game with each new expansion. On the flip side, it will bring back some previous content to the game, including the Cosmodrome location and fan-favorite Destiny raid Vault of Glass.

As for Season of Arrivals, Bungie explained that today’s update is a prelude to Beyond Light. The new update revolves around the black pyramid spaceships first seen in orbit during Destiny 2’s base campaign in 2017. While Bungie didn’t share a road map of activities as it has for previous seasons, a short trailer teased a new exotic weapon quest.

To kick things off, a surprise dungeon will appear in the game tonight. The three-person Prophecy activity is free for all players of the game. This is the game’s first dungeon since Shadowkeep’s Pit of Hersey, from which players could obtain the exotic Xenophage weapon.

The game’s next big expansion is still a few months away, so now is a good time to brush up on Destiny 2’s long, complicated story to get a refresher on the black pyramid ships.

Editors' Recommendations

Giovanni Colantonio
Giovanni is a writer and video producer focusing on happenings in the video game industry. He has contributed stories to…
The next year in Destiny 2 is ‘the beginning of the end’
Key art for Destiny 2 Lightfall.

Destiny 2 isn't slowing down, and Bungie just wrapped its annual showcase timed with Gamescom Opening Night Live. We finally got details on the next expansion, Lightfall, and Bungie revealed what activities players can enjoy in the game's latest season. And, of course, Bungie revealed it's bringing back the King's Fall raid to Destiny 2. 

Destiny 2 Showcase 2022 - Livestream

Read more
Here’s the entire Destiny 2 story explained, up through The Witch Queen
Destiny 2 Beyond Light Beginner's Guide.

Destiny 2 is here, kicking off a new chapter of Activision's wildly popular shared-world shooter. A lot has happened in the universe of Destiny since the original game launched, including expansions, large and small, which add to the story, and countless tweaks to the form and function of the game's fundamental elements. So much has happened, in fact, that a reminder might be in order for anyone wondering what's going on in Destiny these days.

The latest expansion, The Witch Queen, is actually the twelfth chapter in the Destiny saga, depending on how you count. Developer Bungie released Destiny in September 2014, followed by four major expansions: The Dark Below, House of Wolves, The Taken King, and Rise of Iron. Destiny 2 kicked off the series' second arc a few years back and has already seen a few expansions to progress the storyline even further.

Read more
The Witch Queen made me a healthier Destiny 2 player
Hive Guardians created by the Witch Queen Savathun

I used to be what you might call a Destiny addict. Back in the mid-2010s, I was all-in on the first Destiny game, practically playing it daily. I had a dedicated crew I ran raids with, chased the highest-level gear I could find, and competed in the Crucible like it was a job. I clocked over 400 hours playing the game over the course of a few years, and when Destiny 2 came out in 2017, I started on that same path.

But life changed. My free time became more scarce as I got older and the idea of spending all my time on one game became unrealistic. I had other things I wanted to play and it no longer made sense to keep up with an MMO where the grind was always climbing. I still checked out every major expansion, playing through any new story content, but I began to feel like I wasn’t getting a fulfilling experience if I ignored the grind.

Read more