New details emerge on Visceral’s canceled Star Wars project ‘Ragtag’

cancelled visceral star wars ragtag details
When EA first announced Visceral’s single-player Star Wars game in the style of Uncharted, fans were eager to get their hands on it. The game was expected to be even better after Naughty Dog’s Amy Hennig joined Visceral as gameplay and story director. In a sad turn of events, though, EA would eventually shut down both Visceral Games and its untitled Star Wars project.

Until now, there was little known about the project outside of a few vague glimpses at E3. A new report from Kotaku, however, dives into the vision that Amy Hennig and the studio attempted to create. According to the report, the code name for the untitled game was Ragtag, and it would have been a heist story with a focus on a group of “scoundrels in space.”

After speaking to nearly a dozen former Visceral employees, Kotaku reported that the game would have followed a “cracked mirror version” of Han Solo named Dodger. Throughout a journey filled with crime families and heists, Dodger would have been joined by a small group of other scoundrels.  These other characters included a gunslinger named Robie, a mob boss’ daughter named Oona, and a mentor named Buck. Everything would have taken place between the original 1978 Star Wars film and The Empire Strikes Back, dealing with the destruction of Alderaan.

In order to distinguish itself from Uncharted, players would have been allowed to control multiple members of the team. Instead of taking out enemies directly, the emphasis was put on messing with the environment to distract enemies. With their attention turned elsewhere, enemies could be taken out in non-lethal ways.

As expected, EA reportedly demanded that a multiplayer function be added to Ragtag. The report suggests it would have featured combat similar to Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag‘s pirate ship gameplay, except in space.

Hennig supposedly had little interest in the more recognizable parts of Star Wars such as the Jedi, lightsabers, or the Force. As the report suggests, EA was not happy with this lack of recognizable elements and characters.

Progress on Ragtag was said to be very slow. Aside from the brief glimpse shown in 2016, core gameplay like shooting or environments to walk through had not been determined. Even after EA Vancouver, the studio in charge of revamping Ragtag, was brought into production, it was its similarity to Uncharted and lack of innovation that gave it the ax.

Movies & TV

Pedro Pascal officially cast as 'The Mandalorian' as Disney show fills out cast

The Mandalorian, Jon Favreau's live-action Star Wars series planned for Disney's streaming video service, will be one of the most expensive television shows ever made. Here's everything we know about it so far.
Home Theater

The best Dolby Atmos movies for your home theater sound as good as they look

If you've got your hands on some sweet Dolby Atmos gear, the next step is to find films that take advantage of it. These are our picks in every genre for the best Dolby Atmos movies currently available on Blu-ray and streaming services.
Movies & TV

Can't get enough lightsaber action? Here's how to get your Star Wars fix online

Few of us want to deal with DVDs or Blu-ray discs anymore. Unfortunately, the Star Wars movies are few and far between when it comes to streaming. If you want to watch Star Wars online, check out our guide on where to find the films online.
Home Theater

What’s new on Netflix and what’s leaving in January 2019

Our complete list of what's new on Netflix for January 2019 and which titles will be removed will help you catch up on your bingeing, and also ensure you don't miss any titles heading into the streaming ether.

‘Kingdom Hearts III’ out in the wild, director asks for support to stop spoilers

Kingdom Hearts III has been leaked, with several copies of the game out in the wild. The game's director, Tetsuya Nomura, responded to the situation, calling for help from gamers to stop spoilers from spreading online.

The DualShock 4 is one of the best controllers ever, and you can use it with a PC

Sony's new DualShock 4 controller has become a fan favorite, and some people want to use it with a PC. Here's how to connect your DualShock 4 and start using it, either with an official adapter, or unofficial software.

The history of Battle Royale: From mod to worldwide phenomenon

Battle royale games like PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds’ and Fortnite have become the biggest trend in video games. The genre is also pushing the envelope in streaming and eSports in a way that might hint at the future of the industry.

Project Stream testers get to keep a free copy of ‘Assassin’s Creed Odyssey’

Those who participated in Google's technical test of Project Stream won't be able to access the service to play Assassin's Creed Odyssey after January 15, but they'll get to keep the game on PC anyway.

Newest ‘Destiny 2’ raid already completed by two-person team

The latest raid in Destiny 2: Forsaken is Scourge of the Past, and a two-person team has already managed to complete it. The task took 15 hours of trial-and-error effort before the duo managed to take down the final boss.

The 25 best SNES games

The Super Nintendo Entertainment System might be the greatest game console ever made, but what are the best titles for the system? Here are our picks for the best SNES games, including A Link to the Past and Chrono Trigger.

Need a discounted Xbox bundle by Christmas? Walmart has you covered

Black Friday and Cyber Monday have both come and gone, but you can still save some cash on a new Xbox One bundle at Walmart. Both the Xbox One S and the Xbox One X are on sale now.

With our Steam guide, you can give the gift of gaming this holiday season

The holidays may have passed, but it's always a good time to give the gift of gaming (especially when there's a Steam sale)! Here's our quick guide on how to give a Steam game as a gift.

‘Fortnite’ update 7.10 brings a rotating selection of modes big and small

The latest update for Fortnite introduces 14 Days of Fortnite, an event that brings back large and small battle royale modes as well as brand new ones to enjoy during the holiday season.

New Xbox consoles are reportedly code-named ‘Anaconda’ and ‘Lockhart’

Microsoft's next-generation Xbox plans reportedly consist of two separate consoles. One, called "Lockhart," is a more affordable machine, while "Anaconda" is designed with more horsepower.