Skip to main content

Digital Trends may earn a commission when you buy through links on our site. Why trust us?

Disney+ headed to 42 new countries this summer

Disney+ isn’t done growing anytime soon. The streaming service is scheduled to launch in 42 new countries and 11 new territories in Europe, the Middle East, and Africa in the summer of 2022, bringing the likes of Disney, Marvel, Pixar, Star Wars, and more to an even greater swath of the world. Disney+ currently has more than 118 million subscribers globally.

The Disney+ home screen on a TV.
Phil Nickinson/Digital Trends

Here’s where you’ll be able to watch Disney+ sometime later this summer: Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine Territories, Poland, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City, and Yemen.

Those regions also will get content from Star, which is sort of the “general entertainment” streaming segment that we largely know as Hulu in the United States.

The list of territories coming online this summer includes: Faroe Islands (Denmark), French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, St. Pierre and Miquelon Overseas Collective (France), Åland Islands (Finland), Saint Maarten (Netherlands), Svalbard & Jan Mayen (Norway), British Indian Ocean Territory, Gibraltar, Pitcairn Islands, and St. Helena.

Specific country-level pricing wasn’t announced, but the basic Disney+ subscription runs $8 a month or $80 a year. The United States is continuing to see a strong push toward the Disney Bundle, however, which gets you Disney+, the basic Hulu service, and ESPN+ for just $14 a month. And a $70-a-month subscription to Hulu With Live TV will get you the same bundle, too.

Editors' Recommendations

Phil Nickinson
Section Editor, Audio/Video
Phil spent the 2000s making newspapers with the Pensacola (Fla.) News Journal, the 2010s with Android Central and then the…
Hulu content is coming to Disney+ in a single app, with a higher ad-free price
App icons for Disney+, Hulu and ESPN.

The complicated scheme that is the Disney family of streaming services is going to get a little more complicated. Disney CEO Bob Iger, during the company's second-quarter earnings call, announced that Disney is going to create a "one-app experience" in the U.S., bringing Hulu content into the main Disney+ app.

It's also going to increase the price of its ad-free plan, which currently stands at $11 a month.

Read more
Want to stream in DTS:X? It’s coming in 2023 thanks to Disney+ and IMAX
Robert Downey Jr. In Avengers: Endgame.

In all the chaos and excitement that is CES 2023, you may have missed a quiet little announcement from Disney+ that could be music to your ears. Starting sometime in 2023, the streaming video service will be upgrading some of its premier Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) titles, like Avengers: Infinity War and Avengers: Endgame, with the DTS:X 3D surround sound format.

It's an expansion of the IMAX Enhanced format that Disney+ already uses on some MCU content to provide a more spacious 1.90:1 aspect ratio for key scenes, instead of the usual 2.39:1 or 2.40:1 ratios that create horizontal black bars when viewed on TVs with a 16:9 screen.

Read more
Disney+ launches cheaper plan with ads — but not on Roku
Disney Plus on Roku.

The new advertising-based tier of Disney+ launches today. And while it's not exactly the sort of thing that should demand a whole lot of explanation — it's a little less expensive at $8 a month, but also has ads — there is one important thing that should be noted.

This new ad-based tier isn't available if you're on Roku. And that's kind of a big deal since Roku is the largest streaming platform in the U.S. and the second largest in the rest of the world.

Read more