Fireworks laws for every state in America

fireworks laws for every state in america apa firework 2012

The most patriotic day of the year is here, and what’s the best way to celebrate than to set some fireworks into the air? That is, of course, if you’re legally allowed to do it on your own. The American Pyrotechnics Association has provided the 2012 map of firework laws for every state in America so you can check and make sure all is well before getting arrested on America’s 236th birthday. Now that’s no fun at all.

Of course, pay extra attention to the details other than the colors on the map. While most of the map may show blue for legal use of fireworks, not all areas of a certain state will allow it. For example, Central Florida may be alright with fireworks but Volusia, Osceola, and Brevard counties impose a ban as of 2011. Check with your local county laws to make sure you will be able to legally light the fireworks before purchasing or you might have to replan your the location of your festivities.

The APA also lists in great detail what is considered legal as consumer fireworks and what’s not. For example, in Oregon, consumer fireworks “obtained from an Oregon permitted retail stand, such as cones, fountains, and wheels” are perfectly okay while “aerial fireworks such as bottle rockets and roman candles” and those not purchased from a permitted retail stand are strictly prohibited. This means no buying firecrackers off the Internet even if you can launch it in your state.

Louisiana, in particular, has an even stricter rule on the types of fireworks allowed. According to state laws, items prohibited are as detailed as “2”” American made salutes, firecrackers exceeding 1.5″ ”in length or .25″” in diameter, torpedoes exceeding 3/8″” in diameter, roman candles larger than 10″ ball, and sky rockets with a casing of less than 5/8″” in diameter and less than 2-7/8″” in length, with an overall length of 15”.”

Unfortunately for residents in Delaware, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, all consumer fireworks are banned so you’ll have to stick to shows arranged by your local city or travel to another state where it’s legal. Illinois, Iowa, Ohio, and Vermont residents will also only be able to enjoy sparklers at most.

Now that we’ve got some laws out of the way, we hope you have a great time celebrating Independence Day and enjoy some colorful fireworks whether it’s on your television or from the view in your backyard. Happy fourth!

Health & Fitness

In search of the fountain of youth, beauty companies turn to tech

Beauty tech is a fairly new concept, but at CES 2019, companies such as Olay, L’Oreal, and Neutrogena were fully embracing it with all kinds of gadgets that promise to give you glowing skin.

The best Apple Watch bands and straps to stylize your timepiece

If you have an Apple Watch, you know how easy it is to take off the strap it came with, so why not buy yourself another one? Here, we've gathered the best Apple Watch bands we've seen so far. There's something for everyone.
Product Review

LG Gram 14 proves 2-in-1 laptops don’t need to sacrifice battery for light weight

The LG Gram 14 2-in-1 aims to be very light for a laptop that converts to a tablet. And it is. But it doesn’t skimp on the battery, and so it lasts a very long time on a charge.

Switch up your Reddit routine with these interesting, inspiring, and zany subs

So you've just joined the wonderful world of Reddit and want to explore it. With so many subreddits, however, navigating the "front page of the internet" can be daunting. Here are some of the best subreddits to get you started.
Movies & TV

New trailer for 'The Punisher' season 2 teases a bloody showdown

The Punisher is getting a second season on Netflix, with Jon Bernthal returning to play Marvel Comics' gun-toting antihero Frank Castle. Here's everything we know about season 2 of The Punisher so far.
Smart Home

Thinking of buying an Instant Pot? Here's what you need to know

The Instant Pot is a powerful kitchen appliance that does everything from pressure cook to to slow cook to steam. Heck, you can even make yogurt in it. Here's all you need to know about the magic device.
Smart Home

Busted: Facebook Portal gets 5-star reviews from company employees

It's fair to say that Facebook's Portal smart display received a tepid response at launch, so it was something of a surprise to see lots of glowing reviews of the device on Amazon. Turns out some were written by Facebook workers.
Smart Home

Want a smarter home? Ditch the keys with these great smart locks

A good smart lock should offer a combination of security and convenience. Fortunately, these devices keep your home protected, your family safe, and your belongings secure from possible intruders.
Smart Home

The best sous vide machines cook your food perfectly, every single time

Want to make four-star meals from the comforts of your own kitchen? Here are the best sous vide machines available right now, whether you prefer simple immersion circulators or something more complex.
Smart Home

Idaho mother says her child’s light-up sippy cup exploded

After a mother filled a Nuby insulated light-up cup with milk, the cup allegedly exploded. The incident caused burns to the mother's hand and face and a stinging sensation in her lungs that required a trip to the hospital.
Smart Home

Project Alias is a ‘smart parasite’ that stops smart speakers from listening

Two designers chose to do something about nosy smart speakers. The result is Project Alias, a "smart parasite" that whispers nonsense to Google Home and Alexa until it hears a specific wake word.
Smart Home

DS3 Clean water-free swatches could be the future of cleaning products

DS3 Clean swatches were on display at CES 2019. The small swatches come in several types, including shampoo and toilet cleaner. They're great for travel, but their real impact is in how such supplies will be shipped and stored.
Smart Home

Amazon patents a technology to help Alexa fight fake voice attacks

Amazon filed a patent this month for a new technology that looks like it would help its digital assistant Alexa fight fake voice attacks that could potentially fool Alexa's biometric security protocols.
Smart Home

Amazon Prime members number more than 100 million in the U.S., survey says

Consumer Intelligence Research Partners estimated there were 101 million U.S. Amazon Prime members as of December 31, 2018. Last April, CEO Jeff Bezos wrote there were more than 100 global million Prime members.