Skip to main content

Google closes Google+ invite loophole [update]

Google Plus
Image used with permission by copyright holder

For a few brief hours Wednesday evening, Google allowed current users of its newly unveiled social network, Google+, to send out invites to whomever their hearts desired. That option was swiftly shut down, however, after an sudden onslaught of people came rushing to the site in hoards.

“We’ve shut down invite mechanism for the night. Insane demand,” announced Google’s head of social media Vic Gundotra on his Plus profile. “We need to do this carefully, and in a controlled way.”

For the most savvy Google+ users, however, there was another way to let their friends join: rather than send an invite the official way, all a Google+ user had to do was share a post — message, link, photo, anything — with a non-Google+ user by entering in their email address. When the recipient got the email notification that a post had been shared with them, a link at the bottom took them to a signup page for Google+. And voila, they were in.

Not anymore*. Our tests show that Google has shut down this very exploitable loophole. At the time of this writing (1pm EST), anyone who tries to sign up for Google+ will receive a message that says registration has exceeded the limit. From what we can tell, that includes anyone who tries to sign up, whether they have an official invite or not.

There may, however, be another way — but it won’t work immediately. One of our contacts on Google+ tells us that users can simply create a new “Circle” (which Google+ uses to organize user contacts) and add Gmail IDs to it. Those users  should receive an email invite within 24 to 48 hours. We have yet to confirm whether this work.

Regardless, if you want to get in on the Google+ action, you’ll have to wait until they re-open the floodgates. Which could happen at any moment, so be ready, ’cause you’ll have to act fast.

*UPDATE: According to the chatter on Google+, the share loophole is still working for some people, but not others, so it’s at least worth a try. Let us know in the comments if you’re successfully able to join.

Topics
Andrew Couts
Former Digital Trends Contributor
Features Editor for Digital Trends, Andrew Couts covers a wide swath of consumer technology topics, with particular focus on…
How to make a GIF from a YouTube video
woman sitting and using laptop

Sometimes, whether you're chatting with friends or posting on social media, words just aren't enough -- you need a GIF to fully convey your feelings. If there's a moment from a YouTube video that you want to snip into a GIF, the good news is that you don't need complex software to so it. There are now a bunch of ways to make a GIF from a YouTube video right in your browser.

If you want to use desktop software like Photoshop to make a GIF, then you'll need to download the YouTube video first before you can start making a GIF. However, if you don't want to go through that bother then there are several ways you can make a GIF right in your browser, without the need to download anything. That's ideal if you're working with a low-specced laptop or on a phone, as all the processing to make the GIF is done in the cloud rather than on your machine. With these options you can make quick and fun GIFs from YouTube videos in just a few minutes.
Use GIFs.com for great customization
Step 1: Find the YouTube video that you want to turn into a GIF (perhaps a NASA archive?) and copy its URL.

Read more
I paid Meta to ‘verify’ me — here’s what actually happened
An Instagram profile on an iPhone.

In the fall of 2023 I decided to do a little experiment in the height of the “blue check” hysteria. Twitter had shifted from verifying accounts based (more or less) on merit or importance and instead would let users pay for a blue checkmark. That obviously went (and still goes) badly. Meanwhile, Meta opened its own verification service earlier in the year, called Meta Verified.

Mostly aimed at “creators,” Meta Verified costs $15 a month and helps you “establish your account authenticity and help[s] your community know it’s the real us with a verified badge." It also gives you “proactive account protection” to help fight impersonation by (in part) requiring you to use two-factor authentication. You’ll also get direct account support “from a real person,” and exclusive features like stickers and stars.

Read more
Here’s how to delete your YouTube account on any device
How to delete your YouTube account

Wanting to get out of the YouTube business? If you want to delete your YouTube account, all you need to do is go to your YouTube Studio page, go to the Advanced Settings, and follow the section that will guide you to permanently delete your account. If you need help with these steps, or want to do so on a platform that isn't your computer, you can follow the steps below.

Note that the following steps will delete your YouTube channel, not your associated Google account.

Read more