Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Social Media
  3. News

TikTok now lets you control your kid’s account from your own TikTok

Add as a preferred source on Google

TikTok is expanding parental controls — while simultaneously encouraging parents to download the app themselves.

TikTok’s family pairing, announced Thursday, April 16, allows parents to set restrictions on everything from screen time to direct messages without going into the child’s device.

Recommended Videos

Family pairing builds on TikTok’s existing parental controls. The update doesn’t add any new controls but allows access to those features remotely by linking family accounts.

Parents can pair their accounts with their children’s accounts by scanning a QR code.

Once paired, parents can adjust screen time controls, or enable the restricted mode which blocks content that carries the designation, “May not be appropriate for all audiences.” Parents can also control which users are permitted to send their teens messages.

Parents will still be able to manage screen time and enable restricted mode inside the “Digital Wellbeing” controls that already exist in the user’s app itself.

The user that’s being watched can still turn off the family pairing, but the parent’s device will receive a notification and an option to relink.

The family linking rolled out in the U.K. earlier this year, and will reach U.S. users in the “coming weeks,” TikTok said.

Along with the option to remotely access those parental controls, TikTok will also switch Direct Messaging settings to off by default for all users who are under age 16. 

TikTok has long been criticized for safety issues for its younger users. Last year, the video-sharing app was fined a record-breaking $5.7 million because the app did not require parental consent for users under age 13.

Hillary K. Grigonis
Hillary never planned on becoming a photographer—and then she was handed a camera at her first writing job and she's been…
Facebook wants users to train its algorithm instead of fighting it
The new Your Algorithm feature lets users fine-tune Feed and Reels without relying on likes and scrolling alone.
Facebook Your Algorithm featured image official

Facebook's algorithm has spent years trying to figure out what users want to see, usually by watching what they like, comment on, and scroll past. Now, Meta is giving users a more direct way to have a say. Facebook is rolling out Your Algorithm, an AI-powered feature that lets people fine-tune their Feed and Reels recommendations by telling the platform, in their own words, what they want to see more or less of.

Facebook's algorithm is finally taking requests

Read more
I picked 6 Amazon Prime Day deals to make your home office more comfortable
Give your workspace a much-needed upgrade without paying full price.
best-ergonomic-chair-standing-desk-prime-day-deal-2026

Prime Day is a good excuse to finally upgrade the home office setup where you spend most of the day working. I’ve rounded up six ergonomic office chairs and standing desks that can make your workspace more comfortable, flexible, and productive. Whether you need better support or more room to move, these deals cover different budgets.

Flexispot ErgoX Ergonomic Office Chair - $250 (29% off)

Read more
Instagram may soon let you lurk on profiles without leaving a trace
Instagram may finally solve your biggest fear of accidentally liking an old post.
Instagram on an iPhone.

Have you ever scrolled through someone's profile and accidentally liked a photo from four years ago? Instagram may be working on a way to stop that.

Leaker and reverse engineer Alessandro Paluzzi posted on X on Oct. 3 about a read-only mode the app appears to be developing. The feature would essentially turn profile browsing into spectator mode, removing several ways to interact with an account.

Read more