Four new Mass Effect novels will chart the path to ‘Andromeda’

four new mass effect novels will chart the path to andromeda 4 8
Next year’s Mass Effect: Andromeda will act as a continuation of the popular sci-fi RPG franchise, set centuries after the events of Mass Effect 3. Now, there’s word that game publisher Electronic Arts (EA) has commissioned Titan Books to produce four new novels that will span the gap.

“The novels will act as prequels and sequels to the events in the games and will become part of the overarching Mass Effect saga,” according to a press release from Titan Books. “They will focus on key characters and answer the many questions fans have been asking.”

The first book of the quartet will be written by N.K. Jemisin, the author of Hugo and Nebula Award nominee The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. The novel will be subtitled Initiation, and is set to release this August — several months before Mass Effect: Andromeda is scheduled to launch.

Two more novels will follow in March and September 2017, although there’s very little detail on them at this point. No title or even an author has been confirmed at this point, according to a report from Eurogamer.

The final novel of the four will be written by Mac Walters, the creative director of Andromeda and a writer for the Mass Effect series since its inception. Walters has previously worked on various comic book adaptations of the franchise, including Foundation and Evolution.

The fourth book will release in March 2018, a full year after Andromeda is set to hit shelves. Given this timing and the fact that Walters is at the helm, it wouldn’t be surprising to see this novel tease where the franchise is headed next.

After a few years out of the spotlight, it seems that EA is preparing to bring Mass Effect back in a big way. Here’s hoping that the content of these novels steers clear of the pitfalls that produced such a disappointing end to the original trilogy.


Here are all the awesome award-winning indie games from IGF

Indie games are now offering experiences capable of matching -- and often surpassing -- that of big-budget blockbuster titles. The Independent Games Festival recognized the best of them on March 20.
Movies & TV

Stranger Things season 3 is coming! Here’s everything we know so far

With a sophomore season as strong as its first, Stranger Things is now moving on to season 3. Here's everything we've learned so far about the Netflix series' upcoming third season, premiering in July 2019.

The best of the last generation: Our 50 favorite Xbox 360 games

The Xbox 360 thrived during a generation where games were plentiful. Here's our list of the best Xbox 360 games of all time, including all game genres and even a few special indie hits.

These are the must-have games that every Xbox One owner needs

More than four years into its life span, Microsoft's latest console is finally coming into its own. From Cuphead to Halo 5, the best Xbox One games offer something for players of every type.
Movies & TV

The best shows on Netflix right now (March 2019)

Looking for a new show to binge? Lucky for you, we've curated a list of the best shows on Netflix, whether you're a fan of outlandish anime, dramatic period pieces, or shows that leave you questioning what lies beyond.

Get in the Dark Zone and blow away the competition with our The Division 2 guide

The Division 2 has three Dark Zones, specialized areas for PvE and PvP combat. Our Dark Zone guide teaches you the ropes, from the recon missions to the leveling system to the dangers and benefits of going Rogue.
Product Review

Acer Predator Triton 500 review

Nvidia’s new RTX 2080 Max-Q is the fastest GPU you’ll find in any laptop, but it usually comes at a steep price. Acer’s Predator Triton 500, starting at $2,500, makes it a little more affordable. But what must you sacrifice in the…

The Division 2

The latest news, guides, tips and tricks, updates, patch notes, and more so you can learn how to level up your game in The Division 2. Related Categories: The Division 2 News | Guides | Features

Get a new Nintendo Switch? You'll need to grab these accessories

The Switch is a capable console right out of the box, but it has its limitations. Thankfully, these Nintendo Switch accessories will allow you to make the most of Nintendo's latest console.

From fatalities to new characters, here's what we know about Mortal Kombat 11

Mortal Kombat 11 releases April 23 for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PC. Here is everything we know about NetherRealm's latest fighting game, including its characters.

Get a head start mastering Apex Legend's newest character Octane with our guide

Apex Legends' newest legend Octane ran so fast in the Titanfall 2 gauntlet that he blew off his legs. Now dropping into Kings Canyon with prosthetics, Octane's ability set is still centered around speed. Here's how to play as Octane.

The Division 2 offers nothing but a funhouse mirror of America

Tom Clancy's The Division 2 improves on the design shortcomings of the original game in several different ways, but its version of Washington D.C. is completely removed from reality.

World of Warcraft's allied races will make you want to start a new character

The Hord and Alliance are seeking new allies in their struggle for control of Azeroth. Rather you pledge your allegiance to the Horde or Alliance, we've got a guide to help you unlock every allied race that's coming in Battle for Azeroth.

How the Google Stadia could lead to a new era of multi-GPU gaming

Google's Stadia could use more than one graphics card to deliver the high-performance visuals it's promised. If that leads to better developer support for multi-GPUs, could that mean gaming with two or more graphics cards could finally be…