Skip to main content

Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy is coming to modern consoles, including Switch

After months of rumors and speculation, Rockstar has confirmed the existence of Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy — The Definitive Edition. This collection features enhanced ports of Grand Theft Auto III, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas and will launch for PlayStation 4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, Nintendo Switch, and PC later in 2021.

The collection will also come to iOS and Android in 2022 at an unspecified date. It’s unclear how much the collection will cost.

Related Videos

— Rockstar Games (@RockstarGames) October 8, 2021

Although Rockstar hasn’t confirmed the release date for Grand Theft Auto Trilogy — Definitive Edition, it’s rumored to launch on November 11 per industry insider Tom Henderson.

Rockstar refers to Grand Theft Auto Trilogy — Definitive Edition as having “across-the-board upgrades,” such as visual enhancements and modern gameplay improvements while retaining the integrity of the originals. The developer is careful not to call this a “remaster,” though, perhaps indicating that its improvements will be few and far between.

This marks the first time a Grand Theft Auto game will make an appearance on Nintendo Switch, and although these games are already available on PS4, Xbox One, and PC, you’ll now be able to play the definitive versions of them. Interestingly, Rockstar will be removing the existing ports of these games from digital storefronts, which are available on PS4, Xbox One, and PC. It’s unclear when they will be removed, so if you want them, it’s best to purchase them as soon as possible.

This trilogy was originally launched for the PS2, Xbox, and PC and is one of the most beloved collections of all time. Grand Theft Auto III is an important entry in the series, serving as one of the first open-world games to truly make a splash in 2001. Vice City launched the following year in 2002, expanding upon the features from Grand Theft Auto III, while San Andreas pushed things even further in 2004.

Editors' Recommendations

Rockstar Games hacker reportedly arrested following GTA 6 leak
Lester plans a heist in GTA V key art.

Last weekend, someone hacked Rockstar Games and leaked over 90 videos of the still-in-development Grand Theft Auto 6. Now, the City of London Police in the United Kingdom reportedly arrested the 17-year-old individual responsible for the hack.

BBC and the City of London Police's Twitter account confirmed the arrest took place in Oxfordshire earlier today. The official statement only says that this 17-year-old individual was arrested "on suspicion of hacking, as part of an investigation supported by the NCA UK's National Cyber Crime Unit," but journalist Matthew Keys reports that this is the person who leaked Grand Theft Auto 6 after they hacked Rockstar Games (and possibly hacked Uber as well). 

Read more
The alleged Grand Theft Auto 6 leaker is already under FBI investigation
Michael from Grand Theft Auto V.

The FBI is investigating a hacker allegedly behind the recent Grand Theft Auto 6 leaks.

As reported by Eurogamer, the hacker may have had a role in more than just the Rockstar Games security breach, which resulted in 90 video clips of GTA 6 in its early build being leaked onto GTAForums on Saturday night, along with the source codes for GTA 5 and GTA 6. The individual may have been behind a recent attack on Uber as well. The ride-share company shared a blog post confirming the dual cyberattacks, saying it is working with the FBI and the U.S. Department of Justice on the matter -- at least on its end.

Read more
The Grand Theft Auto 6 leak is bad for everyone. Yes, even you
The main characters of Grand Theft Auto V stand side-by-side.

After years of hype, fans finally got to see their first look at Grand Theft Auto 6 this weekend – but not in a way that Rockstar Games intended.

In the dead of night on Saturday, a user on GTAForums posted a bombshell: 90 videos pulled from an early build of Grand Theft Auto 6. On Monday morning, Rockstar publicly confirmed the authenticity of the clips, noting that they were stolen in a “network intrusion.” The developer says that the breach won’t have any “long-term effect” on the project, lamenting that its creators are simply disappointed that it was revealed in such a manner.

Read more