Skip to main content

J.J. Abrams just revealed Leia’s new title in The Force Awakens

carrie fisher dead at 60 star wars the force awakens
Walt Disney Studios
Take note, Star Wars fans: She’s not “Princess Leia” anymore.

In a recent interview, Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens director J.J. Abrams revealed that Carrie Fisher’s iconic character will be answering to a new title in the upcoming film. When The Force Awakens hits theaters, the former diplomat from Alderaan and officer of the Rebel Alliance will go by “General Leia.”

Speaking to EW about the much-anticipated December release, Abrams explained Leia hasn’t entirely dropped her old “Princess Leia” title, and offered some context for the change.

“She’s referred to as General,” said Abrams. “But … there’s a moment in the movie where a character sort of slips and calls her ‘Princess.'”

“The stakes are pretty high in the story for her,” he added, “so there’s not much goofing around where Leia’s concerned, but it felt historic to have her, especially with Harrison, back in scenes together. I can only imagine the baggage that they bring to it, I’m just a fan who loves this stuff, but they’ve been living with it — and living in it — since ’77.”

Fisher herself offered some additional context for Leia’s state of mind more than three decades after the events of Episode VI — Return of the Jedi.

“[She’s] solitary. Under a lot of pressure,” said Fisher. “Committed as ever to her cause, but I would imagine feeling somewhat defeated, tired, and pissed.”

Set 30 years after the events of Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi, The Force Awakens introduces a new set of heroes and villains to the Star Wars universe, while also bringing back a long list of fan-favorite characters from the previous films. The film stars returning cast members Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker, as well as newcomers John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Max von Sydow, Lupita Nyong’o, Gwendoline Christie, Crystal Clarke, Pip Anderson, Christina Chong, and Miltos Yerolemou.

The Force Awakens is directed by J.J. Abrams from a screenplay penned by Abrams, Lawrence Kasdan, and Michael Arndt.

Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens hits theaters December 18, 2015. It will be followed on December 16, 2016, by Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, then Star Wars: Episode VIII on May 26, 2017, and the Han Solo anthology movie on May 25, 2018.

Editors' Recommendations