Skip to main content

Twitter now tells you when someone’s read your direct message

twitter dm update read receipts man holding iphone 6 with on the screen
prykhodov/123RF
Twitter has introduced a bunch of new features to its direct messages (DM) component that brings it closer to the functionality offered by traditional messaging apps, such as Facebook Messenger and iMessage.

Chief among the new features are read receipts for your Twitter messages. The platform is also adding typing indicators, and web link previews to DMs. Twitter claims the changes will make messaging more “dynamic than ever.”

Luckily, for those of you that wish to remain silent in regards to your DM activity, you can turn off read receipts altogether in your “privacy and safety” settings. Be warned, when you install the update, Twitter will immediately activate read receipts, so make sure to customize your settings before you start messaging if you don’t want the changes to be applied. Read receipts will also apply to group messaging, alerting members of a thread when a message has been “seen by everyone.”

Both read receipts and typing indicators (which allow you to see when someone is typing a response — and freak out when those three dots don’t result in a reply) indicate that Twitter wants its DM experience to resemble a messaging app. Does this also mean that it’s planning to one day spin off the feature as a stand-alone chat service, similar to Facebook Messenger? That doesn’t seem likely at present, especially seeing as Twitter has remained relatively quiet regarding DM user numbers.

New! Direct Messages are more dynamic than ever with read receipts, typing indicators, and web link previews. pic.twitter.com/VEU92V5Gqj

— Twitter (@twitter) September 8, 2016

Twitter has already freed messaging from the constraints it applies to its core tweeting experience, fundamentally allowing you to express yourself using an unlimited amount of characters. Like tweets, Twitter DMs also allow you to share rich media, such as images, emojis, and GIFs. That’s where web link previews come in, which were curiously missing all this time. Now, when you send a web link in a DM, a preview will automatically be created, allowing the recipient to get a better idea of what it is they’re opening.

Editors' Recommendations

Saqib Shah
Former Digital Trends Contributor
Saqib Shah is a Twitter addict and film fan with an obsessive interest in pop culture trends. In his spare time he can be…
Cell phone carriers now have the power to stop robocalls. When will they use it?
cell phone companies stop robocalls after fcc vote robo calls feat

The Federal Communications Commission voted Thursday to allow cell phone companies to block robocalls by default, but the nation's major carriers would not give specifics on if or when they would use the newfound power to protect their customers from what's become a daily annoyance.

After Thursday's vote, carriers can now block non-pre-approved numbers by default in order to protect elderly and other vulnerable individuals and to preserve the sanity of the rest of us. Calls from foreign countries in the middle of the night, deceptive caller IDs, and spoofing, where callers falsify area code information are not only disruptive, they encourage online telemarketing and scamming and are generally considered a dangerous waste of time.

Read more
X now offers audio and video calls, but it’s easy to turn off
The new X sign replacing the Twitter logo on the company's headquarters in San Francisco.

A couple of months after landing the CEO job at X (formerly Twitter) in May, Linda Yaccarino said: “X will be the platform that can deliver, well ... everything.”

Part of that includes audio and video calls, which the company has just started to roll out for users globally.

Read more
How to delete or deactivate your Facebook account
Google Pixel Fold in Obsidian with Facebook filled screen after rotating.

Maybe you just need to take a break from using Facebook. Or maybe you haven't used your Facebook account in awhile and don't plan to in the future. Whatever your reasons, you should know that you have two clear options when it comes to doing away with Facebook.

If you just need a break and will likely need your account in the future, you can deactivate your Facebook account. If you've moved on to greener social media pastures or just don't need your account anymore, you can delete your Facebook account too.

Read more