Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Computing
  3. How tos

How to create a drop-down list in Excel on Windows and Mac

Add as a preferred source on Google
A man using a PC to view an Excel spreadsheet.
Getty Images

Implementing a drop-down list in Excel is a quick and efficient way to choose predefined data. In the process, you’re able to save time compared to manually entering such data into a given spreadsheet. Drop-down lists are perfect for several purposes, such as inputting information into a form.

Here's how to create a drop-down list using Microsoft Excel on Windows and Mac.

Recommended Videos

Difficulty

Easy

Duration

5 minutes

What You Need

  • Microsoft Excel

  • PC

Create a drop-down list by manually entering data

There are a few ways to create a drop-down list on Excel. This specific method is the most straightforward and is particularly effective for a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet beginner and for lists that won’t require constant updates.

Step 1: Select the cell in the column where you want to input a drop-down list.

Step 2: Go to the Data tab and select the Data validation button or choose Data validation from the drop-down menu.

Step 3: Pick the Allow menu from the subsequent window that pops up and select List.

Step 4: Within the Source field, enter exactly what you want to be included in the drop-down list. Be sure to apply a comma after each list item.

Manually entering data into the ​​Source field for a drop-down list on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 5: Select OK.

The cell you initially selected from step 1 will now have a functioning drop-down list consisting of all the information you entered in step 4.

Create a drop-down list by selecting a range of cells

The most common way to create a drop-down list in Excel with multiple selections is by using a range, which relies on using data from other cells.

Step 1: Choose a column where you want to include the data that will be shown in the associated drop-down list. This can be from the same spreadsheet where the drop-down list will be located, but you can also use a separate spreadsheet (add a new spreadsheet at the bottom). The latter option will naturally make your primary spreadsheet look more tidy, professional, and less cluttered.

Step 2: Type all the data entries into the column (you can add a new column if necessary), with each entry having its own cell.

Inputting entries for a drop-down list on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 3: Select the cell where you want the drop-down list to appear.

Selecting the cell for a drop-down list on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 4: Go to the Data tab and choose Data validation from the drop-down menu.

The Data Validation button on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 5: Within the Allow menu, select List. An arrow will be displayed on the edge of the Source field. Select that Arrow.

The List option within the Allow menu on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 6: You’ll be taken back to your spreadsheet’s main view. From here, simply select the range of cells by dragging the cursor from the first cell down to wherever your last cell is located.

Selecting a range of cells for a drop-down list on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 7: In the Data validation mini pop-up window, select the Arrow button. ​​The Source bar will include the entire cell range that you select in the above steps. Choose OK.

You will now have a drop-down list menu located in the cell you chose from step 3.

The ​​Source bar that includes the range of cells required for a drop-down list.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Display a message when the drop-down list is selected

Once you’ve created your drop-down list, you can make it more accessible by adding an input message.

Step 1: Choose the cell where the drop-down list is located. Then open the Data validation pop-up window once more.

Step 2: Select the Input message tab. Enter a relevant title and the text you want to be displayed when clicking the drop-down list. The text added here is limited to 225 characters.

Displaying a message for a drop-down list on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 3: Pick "OK" to apply the message.

Display an error alert

Similar to how you can insert a message that describes the purpose of the drop-down list, you can also display an error alert, which can emerge when text or data that’s not found in the list is entered.

Step 1: Select the cell where you created your drop-down. Reopen the Data validation window, select the Error alert tab, and tick the Show error alert after invalid data is entered box.

Enter a custom title and a message. Should the title or text fields be left empty, Excel will apply a default message.

Entering the relevant data for displaying an error alert for a drop-down list on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 2: Choose a style from the ones provided, such as Stop (X), and select OK.

Alternatively, if you want a message to pop up that doesn’t prevent individuals from entering invalid data, select either Information or Warning from the Style menu. Both options sport their own design.

Displaying an error alert for a drop-down list on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Protect your drop-down list

To prevent someone from viewing or tampering with the source of the drop-down list’s data, you can lock those cells.

Step 1: Go to the column where your data for the drop-down list is entered. Now select the cells you wish to lock in order to prevent changes from unauthorized sources.

After you’ve selected the area you want to lock, go to the Home tab.

Step 2: Within the Alignment section, select the Small arrow at the bottom right to open the Format cells window. Head to the Protection tab, mark the Locked check box, and select OK.

Locked option checked.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 3: Go to the Review tab and select Protect sheet or Protect workbook. Make any adjustments as per your requirements and pick OK.

The Protect Worksheet option for locking cells on Microsoft Excel.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Using drop-down lists in Excel is one of the best ways to save time, although it requires a little configuration first. We've got more Excel tricks to improve your workflow, so why not check those out?

Zak Islam
Former Contributor
Zak covers the latest news in the technology world, particularly the computing field. A fan of anything pertaining to tech…
As Anthropic goes public, it warns of AI’s catastrophic and existential risks to humanity
The risks range from rogue AI behavior and cyberattacks to geopolitical instability and existential harm.
Anthropic Featured Logo

Anthropic has officially filed to go public, and buried inside its S-1 is a blunt warning about the technology at the center of its business. The maker of Claude AI says advanced AI could cause everything from large-scale cyberattacks and geopolitical instability to catastrophic or even existential risks for humanity.

The warnings take up a surprisingly large part of the filing. Axios notes that more than 90 pages, or roughly a third of the prospectus, focus on risk factors. Many of them warn about what could happen as AI systems become more capable and autonomous.

Read more
New report confirms Anthropic’s Claude bypassed a paywall to access Georgia vote counts
The AI model accessed a state dashboard without authorization, raising fresh concerns about AI agents acting beyond their instructions ahead of the US midterm elections.
Claude Anthropic Featured

AI giants have a growing autonomy problem on their hands. A new Axios report has revealed that Anthropic's Claude recently accessed publicly available Georgia vote count without human authorization, sparking fresh concerns about AI security ahead of the upcoming midterm elections.

An unauthorized paywall bypass

Read more
Grok’s AI-generated Odyssey series is seven minutes of nothing happening beautifully
The landscapes look convincing. The fake Hugh Jackman and Instagram-face amalgamation playing Penelope are harder to forgive.
Uniform ships Odyssey by Grok

Some of the best shots in Grok Imagine’s AI-made Odyssey don’t contain actors. Ancient landscapes stretch into the distance. Close-ups of grimy hands suggest people who have touched something rougher than a keyboard. For a few seconds, the illusion holds.

https://twitter.com/imagine/status/2113712964419063911

Read more