How to delete your Uber account

Say goodbye to Uber for good: Here's how to cut ties with the ridesharing service

Maybe you’ve decided to become a driver, not a rider. Or, maybe you’re ready to give the competition a try. Regardless, if your relationship with Uber has run its course, we’ll show you how to delete your account for good by using the app, or by logging on to the company’s official website.

It’s relatively easy to delete your account via the app, but there is a small catch. Uber only lets you deactivate it at first, and its tech team will only permanently delete it after 30 days of inactivity. Here’s what you need to know.

How to delete Uber via the app

Step 1: Launch the app, and make sure you’re signed into your account.

Step 2: In the upper-left corner of your screen, tap the menu icon, which is denoted by three horizontal lines.

Step 3: Once the menu pops up, tap Settings.

Step 4: Then tap Privacy.

Step 5: Next, tap Delete Your Account, which should be at the bottom of the resulting menu.

Step 6: Uber will ask you to verify your password before you can delete your account. Type it in and tap Verify.

Step 7: You’ll be sent to a page where Uber tells you your account will be deactivated and, in 30 days, deleted. It will also show you how many rides you’ve taken with Uber. To finish the process, click Continue.

Step 8: You will be asked to share details on why you chose to delete your Uber account. It’s no longer necessary to fill this form out, but if you want to share your grievances about the company, feel free to let it all out. If you’d rather not, simply tap Cancel.

Step 9: Uber will then provide you with one more chance to opt out of canceling. Tap Delete to confirm your decision.

Uber currently only allows you to delete your account from within the app, but if you are having trouble doing so using the method above, here’s how to request help from Uber on your desktop.

How to request help from Uber

Step 1: Navigate to Uber’s Account and Payment Options page, scroll to the bottom, and click I was unable to delete my account.

Uber delete account

Step 2: At the bottom of the following screen, click Sign in to get help. If you’re already signed in, skip ahead to step 4.

Step 3: Enter your email or phone number and click Next. You will then be asked to enter your password, and if you’ve never signed into your Uber account using your web browser, Uber might make you verify your account via text.

how to delete your uber account

Step 4: Once you’re logged in, it will take you back to the I was unable to delete my account screen, where you can type in the issue you’re having and click Submit. An Uber representative will reach out eventually, but, in the meantime, you can always move onto something new.

Editors' Recommendations