Skip to main content

Castlevania Advance Collection finally revives classic Game Boy Advance games

After weeks of rumors, the Castlevania Advance Collection will launch for the Nintendo Switch later today. Like its name suggests, it includes the three original games released on the Game Boy Advance: Castlevania: Circle of the Moon, Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance, and Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow. It also features Castlevania: Dracula X, an SNES title based on Castlevania: Rondo of Blood.

Circle of the Moon marked the iconic Castlevania series‘ debut on the Game Boy Advance in 2001. Harmony of Dissonance followed in 2002 and Aria of Sorrow in 2003. The three titles were popular enough that they rereleased on the Wii U in 2014. However, the Castlevania Advance Collection will be the first time they come to newer consoles.

M2, a studio that already worked with Konami in the past on its Castlevania Anniversary Collection, is handling the new GBA collection. This includes implementing the newly announced rewind, quick save, and button-mapping options to improve gameplay for new players. Regional versions of the games, along with a gallery of never-before-seen artwork, also sweeten the deal.

Castlevania is one of the most iconic platformers from the early 2000s. Castlevania: Symphony of the Night especially stuck in gamers’ minds with its mix of platforming and RPG elements. It even inspired part of the term “Metroidvania” — a type of platformer adventure game. It’s a different protagonist most of the time, though the vampire-filled, supernatural setting stays the same. Count Dracula haunts the world, whether he happens to be up and about in that particular game or just affecting it through history. 

Castlevania leaks sprang weeks before the official announcement at the recent Nintendo Direct. According to its ESRB Rating, Castlevania Advance Collection will also come to PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC in the future. Konami just hasn’t announced it yet.

Jess Reyes
Jessica Reyes is a freelance writer who specializes in anime-centric and trending topics. Her work can be found in Looper…
7 Game Boy games that should come to Nintendo Switch Online
Nintendo game boy and game boy color with various hit game cartridges isolated on white background.

Is it finally time for an era of Game Boy nostalgia? It might be, according to a new rumor that Game Boy and Game Boy Color games may be coming to the Nintendo Switch’s online service soon. The rumor comes from known Nintendo leaker Nate Drake, who raised the possibility on his Nate the Hate podcast. Nintendo Life backed up the speculation, saying it has sources that claim Game Boy games are coming to the Switch “very soon.”

While it’s not firm evidence by any stretch, a Switch Online upgrade has been rumored for years. In 2019, a data mine revealed that the online app had two additional emulators besides those for the NES and SNES. That had fans wondering if one might be reserved for Game Boy titles, which seems like the next logical step for the app. Nintendo hasn’t given its classic handheld as much love as its iconic consoles in recent years, so a resurgence of Game Boy nostalgia would certainly be a cause for celebration.

Read more
Advance Wars 1+2: Re-Boot Camp remasters the Game Boy Advance classics
An Advance Wars battlefield in Advance Wars 1+2 Re-boot Camp.

Nintendo has announced that Advance Wars 1+2: Re-Boot Camp, a remaster of Advance Wars and Advance Wars 2: Black Hole Rising, will be coming to Switch. Nintendo says the games have been "reimagined and rebuilt from the ground up." Advance Wars 1+2: Re-Boot Camp will release on December 3, but pre-orders are available starting today.

Advance Wars 1 + 2 Re-Boot Camp Trailer | Nintendo E3 2021

Read more
The best Game Boy games of all time
A Game Boy sitting on a white background.

As video games continue to evolve and improve with realistic graphics and other high-tech features, you might miss the excitement and simplicity of a device like the GameBoy every once in a while.  

Maybe you’re in the mood to play a little Tetris or experience the world of Super Mario Land again. It might just be time to dust your Game Boy off, and while you’re at it, you might want to consider purchasing some of these classic games to play on it.

Read more