Skip to main content

Square Enix reveals launch dates for 'Final Fantasy XII' remaster, 'FFXV' DLC

final fantasy xii remake dated for july ffxiizodiac
Image used with permission by copyright holder
Square Enix revealed that a remastered PlayStation 4 version of its acclaimed PS2-era RPG Final Fantasy XII will launch worldwide in July, while Final Fantasy XV players can look forward to all-new storyline DLC and Season Pass content starting in February.

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age will also feature an array of gameplay upgrades when it launches later this year, including a character progression system that was once exclusive to Japan.

Released for the PlayStation 2 in 2006, Final Fantasy XII remains a favorite among series fans for its memorable cast members and politically charged storyline. Final Fantasy XII also marked a departure for the series in terms of gameplay, challenging players to define their party’s combat behavior using a “gambit” system instead of allowing direct control over individual party members.

The Japan-exclusive rerelease Final Fantasy XII: International Zodiac Job System in 2007 expanded on the original game’s mechanics with 12 additional License Boards, granting party members stat boosts and abilities based on their chosen class. These mechanical improvements were previously reserved for players in Japan, but fans worldwide can experience International Zodiac Job System‘s features in the upcoming PS4 remaster.

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age launches exclusively for the PlayStation 4 on July 11.

Square Enix additionally revealed that Final Fantasy XV players can expect to see a “Booster Pack” of downloadable content on February 21. Available in both free and paid Season Pass versions, the Final Fantasy XV Booster Packs will outfit players with new items and equipment, including a “Magitek Exosuit” that grants new abilities in battle.

Final Fantasy XV‘s first batch of add-on storyline content will launch on March 28 with Episode Gladiolus, a playable episode featuring Prince Noctis’ companion Gladio. The episode will be released as stand-alone DLC on the PlayStation Network and Xbox Live and is available as a free download for Premium Edition and Season Pass buyers.

Editors' Recommendations

Danny Cowan
Danny’s passion for video games was ignited upon his first encounter with Nintendo’s Duck Hunt, and years later, he still…
Whatever you do, don’t skip Final Fantasy VII Rebirth’s card minigame
Queen's Blood

If you're getting ready to start your Final Fantasy VII Rebirth adventure, let me offer you fair warning: it is a long game. If you're planning to do every sidequest, minigame, and Chadley combat battle, you'll be wandering around Gaia for 100 hours. That's not an exaggeration; I hit credits in 73 hours and I still had a massive checklist of side content to complete.

Considering that length, you'll want to prioritize the best content if you want to get through the story in a timely matter. Some minigames are safe to skip, but there's one you absolutely should not sleep on: Queen's Blood. Not only is it a surprisingly deep deck-builder, but it contains a secret story all its own that makes it Rebirth's absolute best minigame.
All hail the queen
Introduced early in Rebirth's story, Queen's Blood is an optional card game that appears all over the world. It's essentially Rebirth's Gwent equivalent, giving players an in-world deck-building game to obsess over. That's become a bit of a cliché in modern open-world games, but Queen's Blood is the best take on the idea I've ever seen.

Read more
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth preload guide: release time, file size, and preorder
Cloud and his friends overlook a scenic field.

It's time to start sharpening your buster swords and slotting your Materia because Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is right around the corner. This second chapter in the remake trilogy is one of the most anticipated games of 2024, so fans are no doubt eager to rejoin Cloud and Avalanche as they step out of Midgar to continue the hunt for Sephiroth.

For an adventure this big, you need to be ready the moment the game becomes available so you don't waste any time making space on your PS5 or get stuck waiting for a massive download when you could be playing. While Chadly is away, we will give you all the necessary data on Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth's preload information.
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth release time

Read more
Ahead of Rebirth, it’s time to give Final Fantasy VII Remake some overdue respect
Main characters from Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade.

When Final Fantasy VII Remake launched in 2020, tensions were high.

Fans of the original Final Fantasy VII, both a genre- and childhood-defining RPG, were already skeptical about the project due to the fact that it would only adapt a very short slice of the 1997 release. Those frustrations would get compounded by some much more serious ones: Remake would launch weeks into the social isolation era of COVID-19. Despite getting a warm critical reception, the unusual remake would quickly become a polarizing game among fans. Even Digital Trends was critical of it at the time: "Although the complete Final Fantasy VII storyline is a fascinating, emotional globe-trotting adventure, this first 40-hour romp is anything but."

Read more