Skip to main content

How to watch a crewed Soyuz capsule head home from ISS this week

NASA Live: Official Stream of NASA TV

The International Space Station (ISS) is currently experiencing a very busy period for crew rotation.

Having recently welcomed one American astronaut and two Russian cosmonauts who arrived on a Soyuz spacecraft, the orbital facility is now preparing to bid farewell to three cosmonauts.

After that, SpaceX’s four-person Crew-5 team will arrive for a six-month stay. Poor weather conditions at the launch site in recent days has interrupted Crew-5’s preparations for launch, which had been set for Monday, October 3. NASA said on Sunday that it will reschedule the Crew-5 mission in the coming days.

Also, at some point in the next week or so, three NASA astronauts and another from the European Space Agency — who make up SpaceX’s Crew-4 team — will depart the ISS aboard a SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft after spending six months in space. A specific date has yet to be confirmed for Crew-4’s homecoming.

But first, as we mentioned at the top, Expedition 67 Commander Oleg Artemyev of Roscosmos, along with fellow cosmonauts Denis Matveev and Sergey Korsakov, will climb aboard the Soyuz MS-21 spacecraft for their ride back to Earth on Thursday, September 29.

NASA will broadcast a livestream of the spacecraft’s undocking from the station’s Prichal module and also show the early stages of the journey home as the capsule edges away from the ISS. It will also livestream the trio landing on the steppe of Kazakhstan southeast of the remote town of Dzhezkazgan about 1,350 miles southeast of Moscow.

The Soyuz MS-21 crew ship shown docked to the Prichal docking module on the ISS.
From bottom to top, the Soyuz MS-21 crew ship is docked to the Prichal docking module, which is also attached to the Nauka multipurpose laboratory module. NASA

How to watch

The Soyuz spacecraft will depart the space station at 3:34 a.m. ET (12:34 a.m. PT/7:34 a.m. GMT) on Thursday, September 29.

The spacecraft’s parachute-assisted landing will take place in Kazakhstan around four hours later at 6:57 a.m. ET (3:57 a.m. PT/7:57 a.m. GMT).

Coverage will begin at 3:15 a.m. ET (12:15 a.m. PT/7:15 a.m. GMT). You can watch it via the video player at the top of this page, or by visiting NASA’s YouTube channel. NASA personnel will also offer commentary, giving viewers a full understanding of all of the procedures taking place during the homecoming mission.

The departure and landing is early (or late!) for those in the U.S., but the stream will remain online and so can also be viewed after the event.

Editors' Recommendations

Trevor Mogg
Contributing Editor
Not so many moons ago, Trevor moved from one tea-loving island nation that drives on the left (Britain) to another (Japan)…
Junk from the ISS fell on a house in the U.S., NASA confirms
The International Space Station.

A regular stanchion (left) and the one recovered from the NASA flight support equipment used to mount International Space Station batteries on a cargo pallet. The recovered stanchion survived reentry through Earth’s atmosphere on March 8, 2024, and impacted a home in Florida. NASA

When Alejandro Otero’s son called him on March 8 to say that something had crashed through the roof of their home, he initially thought it might have been a meteorite.

Read more
What kind of view will ISS astronauts get of the solar eclipse?
A total solar eclipse.

NASA Astronauts Talk about the 2024 Total Solar Eclipse

In case you haven’t heard, a total solar eclipse is about to happen.

Read more
How to safely watch April’s total solar eclipse, in person or online
A person watches the annular solar eclipse of October 14, 2023, in Kerrville, Texas.

Next month will see a rare and exciting astronomical event: a total solar eclipse that will be viewable across much of North America. On Monday, April 8, the moon will pass directly between the Earth and the sun, blocking out the sun's rays and temporarily causing dusk, then darkness in the middle of the day.

In 15 U.S. states, darkness will descend for several minutes across the course of an hour, enabling a unique experience for those within the viewing radius. But though this is a wonderous event to behold, you'll need to be careful if you wish to view the eclipse, as doing so without the right equipment can damage your eyes. NASA has shared tips on how to safely view the eclipse, and the agency will also provide a live stream of views of the eclipse for those who can't see it in person.
How to view the solar eclipse safely
A person watches the annular solar eclipse of October 14, 2023, in Kerrville, Texas. NASA

Read more