‘Battlefield 1’ expansion packs bring the French and Russians to the front line

battlefield 1 expansions revealed open beta
Battlefield 1 is still a few months away, and much of Electronic Arts’ focus the past few weeks has been on its other upcoming multiplayer shooter, Titanfall 2. But the World War I-era game is shaping up to be a massive return to form for a series that has lost its way. The content you get when you pick up a copy of Battlefield 1 on release day won’t be all the game has to offer — the game is receiving a Premium Pass that comes loaded with enough extras to keep you playing for a long time.

As detailed on EA’s Origin platform, the Battlefield 1 Premium Pass will get players 16 extra maps spread over four different expansion packs, each with a different theme. The first of these, They Shall Not Pass, focuses on the French army. It will arrive in March, quite a long time after the game’s October release, and Premium members will get access to it two weeks before everyone else.

A second expansion — though it’s not quite clear if it’s the second expansion — will feature the Russian Empire’s army. Both the French and Russians are completely omitted from the main game’s multiplayer maps, which led to a change petition that currently has more than 38,000 supporters.

In addition to the maps, the pass also includes 20 new weapons and 14 extra “Battlepacks,” which contain special weapon skins and new vehicles. The Battlepacks will be offered on a monthly basis, with the first arriving just after the game launches.

The Battlefield series has offered some of the best post-release content of any competitive shooter on the market, but the decision to relegate two important countries in World War I to paid DLC is a little odd. We’re hoping the game’s campaign manages to highlight the importance of every country’s contributions during the war.

Battlefield 1 will be released for Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC on October 21.

Product Review

Montblanc Summit 2 offers smart functionality but still looks good with a suit

Montblanc’s Summit 2 is the first smartwatch to use Qualcomm’s Snapdragon Wear 3100 processor. It’s feature packed, with GPS, NFC for Google Pay, and a heart rate sensor, but it also has the classic timepiece look.

Intel’s 2019 NUC may get even more powerful, thanks to 9th-Gen Core i9 processor

Intel may be looking at adding even more performance to its compact desktop range. The company's 2019 line of NUC PCs could be refreshed with the latest 9th-Generation processor, which packs in eight cores and 16 threads.

These are the best Xbox One games available right now

More than four years into its life span, Microsoft's latest console is finally coming into its own. From 'Cuphead' to 'Halo 5,' the best Xbox One games offer something for everyone.

What you should know about 'Battlefield V,' and what to expect with Tides of War

Battlefield V is one of the most ambitious games Electronic Arts and DICE have ever released, including full campaign, multiplayer, and battle royale modes, all while not charging players extra for new maps.

Check out the best Green Monday deals for those last-minute gifts

Black Friday and Cyber Monday have come and gone, but that doesn't mean you've missed your chance of finding a great deal. We're talking about Green Monday, of course, and it falls on December 10.

Itching to fight in an online match with friends in 'SSB Ultimate'? Here's how

You can play online against your friends in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, but it isn't quite as simple as you might expect from a multiplayer game in 2018. Here's how you can do so using the Battle Arena system.

Still trying to unlock your main in 'Super Smash Bros. Ultimate'? Try these tips

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is Nintendo’s biggest entry in the series to date with over 70 characters to unlock, but the process can feel tiresome. Here are our tips to unlock your roster as quickly as possible.
Product Review

‘Super Smash Bros. Ultimate’ is an ode to gaming that lives up to its name

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is a loving tribute to Nintendo and video game history. It’s a terrific multiplayer fighter that also has plenty for single-player fans to love this time around.

PlayStation Classic hacked in less than a week to play games via USB drive

Hackers have already managed to crack the PlayStation Classic, with programs now available to allow users to play additional original PlayStation games on the system via a USB drive.

‘Fortnite’ adds sword from ‘Infinity Blade,’ which disappears from App Store

Epic Games has added the Infinity Blade melee weapon to Fortnite just as it pulled all three games in the Infinity Blade trilogy from sale. The games are still available to download if you bought them.

How you can give your PS4 a fresh start with a factory reset

Learn the many ways you can factory reset your PS4. From reverting your settings to factory to doing a full wipe and reinstalling the latest PlayStation firmware, we cover it all here, step by step.

How to make a clan in ‘Destiny 2’ and where to go from there

Want to know how to make a clan in 'Destiny 2'? Here's everything you need to know, including how to design your clan's banner, earn extra loot, and help other players with guided games.

Put down the controller and pick up the best phones for gaming on the go

Which phones are the best if all you want to do is play some mobile games? We've done the hard work and put together a list of the best gaming phones on Android and iOS, so you can keep playing and winning.

Need help getting the Sleeper Simulant in 'Destiny 2'? We’ve got you covered

The Sleeper Simulant is one of the coolest new Exotic weapons you can unlock in the Warmind expansion of Destiny 2, but it's an involved process that will take awhile. Here's everything you need to know.